The Self-Propagating Weed

God’s Word: Genesis 27

God’s message to me:

Selfishness is like a weed that has seeds planted in every person’s heart.  All it takes is a little encouragement and they will blossom, grow and create even more selfishness.  People are never satisfied with just a little selfishness.  A little calls for more, and then more and more.  Unless it is checked it will produce untold numbers of various sins.  And the further one allows it to roam unchecked, the more evil and gross will the sins become.

Selfishness comes so naturally, springs up so quickly, mankind often does not recognize it, but thinks he is just doing what is best for self.  As a matter of fact, society often praises this as looking out for number one.  But when everyone is doing this, it is a dog eat dog world.

The world is longing for those who will set aside their own wants and wishes and live unselfishly.  It takes great self-restraint to set aside your own wants, even your own needs.  But how I long to see this in a person and how I will bless such a person.  This is a person I can work mightily through.  Throughout the Bible you will see that I accomplished my purposes using even selfish characters.  How much more could I do through a submitted heart.

God’s Question for me:

Will you be that submitted person that I am longing to use to carry out my will?

God’s Promise to me:

I will greatly multiply your offerings of selflessness and bless you indeed.

My prayer to God:

I praise you for this reminder that I am so prone to be selfish and how that hurts you.

I am sorry for my blind eyes that so often see only my own concerns of life.

Thank you for having a work for me to do and leading me along your path.

Help me today to restrain my own desires and give way to others, for your glory.

My Song to God: 
If I have wounded any soul today,
If I have caused one foot to go astray,
If I have walked in my own willful way,
Dear Lord, forgive!

If I have uttered idle words or vain,
If I have turned aside from want or pain,
Lest I myself shall suffer through the strain,
Dear Lord, forgive!

If I have been perverse or hard, or cold,
If I have longed for shelter in Thy fold,
When Thou hast given me some fort to hold,
Dear Lord, forgive!

Forgive the sins I have confessed to Thee;
Forgive the secret sins I do not see;
O guide me, love me and my keeper be,
Dear Lord, Amen.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?