#1 God the Defender

3 Sep

God’s Word:  Proverbs 22:22,23

God’s Message to Me:

I, The Lord God, am the defender of the neglected.  Therefore, if you “walk all over the poor” you are walking all over Me.  A person who uses their advantage over another to bring them harm, is indeed walking on thin ice.  You can be sure the ice will break and you will be the looser in the end.

Instead of using your advantage to bring harm—use it to bring life.   Instead of walking all over the poor, walk up to them, and treat them as though you were meeting Me face to face.  Instead of sharing with the poor, neglected, sick and weak, you build bigger and more storage units to store your “stuff” and hold onto it.  And what happens to it?  It grows old, rusty, molds, and is unusable when you may need it.

Take this Principle #1 to heart—reach out to the one in need that is close to you.   When you focus your life on building your own ivory tower, ignoring the needs of others, you will find the only real satisfaction in life is “being there for the person in need.”  Ivory towers cannot bring happiness, only sharing your bounty with one in need brings true peace and happiness.

God’s Question to Me:  What possessions do you have, but don’t really use or need, that another could be blessed by?  In blessing another you are blessing Me and I in turn bless you.

God’s Promise to Me:   I am the defender of those who are unable to speak up for themselves, the poor, the unborn, the sick, the elderly.  To ignore their needs is to spit in My face.

 My Song to God:               Because I have been given much     by Grace Noll Crowell

Because I have been given much
I too must give
Because of thy great bounty, Lord
Each day I live
I shall divide my gifts from thee
With every brother that I see
Who has the need of help from me

Because I have been sheltered
Fed by thy good care
I cannot see another’s lack
And I not share
My glowing fire, my loaf of bread
My roof’s safe shelter overhead
That he, too, may be comforted

Because of thy life’s mission, Lord
I too will serve
I’ll leave the comfort of my home
To teach thy word
I’ll seek thy sheep who’ve gone astray
And those who’ve never known the way
I will make thy work my work today

I shall give love to those in need
I’ll show that love by word and deed
Thus shall my thanks be thanks indeed

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

