Relief or Reform?

23 Sep

God’s WordPsalms 106

God’s Attribute: (43)  Over and over God rescued them, but they never learned. helping-another

God’s Message to me:

Often people want Me to rescue them because they want relief, not reform!  I couldn’t begin to count the times people have called out to Me for rescue, promising all kinds of reform, if I would just get them out of their troubles.  But when a person is rescued from the consequences of their choices, they learn nothing and continue to make bad choices.  But we keep hoping, don’t we?  Perhaps this time they will make some reforms and not get into trouble again.

Use caution when rescuing people from their bad choices.  Sometimes you have to let people suffer the consequences of their choices before they see the vital need of reform.  If you rescue them, you cause them to rely on your kindness instead of making life changes.

Use wisdom in your rescue efforts. Ask yourself, did this person get in this predicament because of unwise choices or was this an unforeseen calamity?  Do not hand out your mercy efforts just to make yourself feel good.  Many people rely on that to sustain their dysfunctional lifestyle.  The goal in all rescue efforts is reform, not merely relief.

God’s Question for me: 

Will you use caution and wisdom in rescuing others from the challenges they face?

God’s Promise to me: 

My immense love for you results in My mercy being shown.  (How are you reflecting that mercy to others?)

My Prayer to Emulate God’s Attributes:  I Pledge:

My mind: To use wisdom is lending my helping efforts to others.

My voice:  To speak Your words of wisdom to those in challenging circumstances.  Encourage them to make wise choices.

My heart:  To always be ready to show tender compassion to all.

My body:  To use my best efforts to relieve the suffering of those, who through no fault of their own, face insurmountable challenges.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

