Lessons from a Dog

2 Aug

Taking my dog for a walk is a meditative sort of activity.  As we were walking today I realized that my reEllen & Cooperlationship to God is nearly like my dog, Cooper’s, relationship to me.  Cooper does great as long as I keep hold of the short leash.  The distractions come but since he knows he is on leash he ignores them.  It’s very peaceful for us both.  That is how my relationship with God is when I am connected to Him through His Word.  His Word serves as my leash.  My life goes along peacefully as long as I stay connected to God.

Once Cooper and I get to a large church parking lot with lots of grass and shrubs, I let him off leash.  Oh how excited he is to go exploring.  I mean he’s totally excited to be off-leash.  He leaves his mark on shrubs, finds disgusting things to taste, chases a cat, arouses a bird to flight and oh how he loves running free.  And when he decides to “make a deposit” on the grass of course, I follow along to clean up after him.  I often call out to him with warnings but he ignores me.  When it’s time to go I call him back to my side and he reluctantly comes and we continue on with the leash connecting us.

We too love to run free and do whatever comes naturally–often causing pain or anxiety for others.  There are so many distractions in life that pull us away from God and we go about our merry way–ignoring that He is still close by.  We forget all about His leash–the Bible and do things our own way.  Then, when our actions and choices have gotten us into trouble we come running back to God and His Word, wondering why things just aren’t working out and wanting Him to fix it.  We want both our freedom and His protection.

I want my life to be so absorbed with God’s Word that I never want to get far away from His protective care.  I’m grateful for His loving forgiveness and patience when I mess up and wander off.  But how wonderful it is to know He is always there, waiting for Me to come back to His side.  What a wonderfully peaceful place to be!

2 Responses to “Lessons from a Dog”

  1. Paula August 2, 2016 at 2:49 pm #

    I do so love to read your daily posts and look forward to seeing them in my E-Mail In Box. Tank you for taking the time to do this.

    Like

    • ellenlandreth August 2, 2016 at 4:01 pm #

      Thank you Paula. I’m glad to know that. Love you lady!

      Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

