For Whose Sake Do You Pray?

12 May

God’s Word: Psalms 54

God’s Attribute: (verse 4)  Oh, look! God’s right here helping!  God’s on my side.Prayer1

God’s message to me:

Did you notice the words in the first verse of this chapter–GOD, FOR YOUR SAKE, HELP ME!  I don’t hear many prayers addressed to Me in that manner.  Mankind mostly prays for their own sake, to save their own necks—instead of thinking how their situation can bring Me honor.  Those who live their lives FOR MY SAKE get My attention!  Folks often think that means to live for Me their life will be easy.

This world has many challenges for the purpose of making you strong so that you can  help others.  Your strength comes from Me and your light shines and lights the way for others to come to Me.  When prayer moves to the level of people asking FOR MY SAKE, then I know they have come through the battle and are stronger for it.  I am glorified when you shine My light through the struggles of your life.

In the midst of life’s storms I AM RIGHT THERE.  I am on your side! My presence with your spirit will give you peace and contentment in the midst of the storm.  Oh that mankind would take to heart–Romans 15:1 (The Message) Those of us who are strong and able in the faith need to step in and lend a hand to those who falter, and not just do what is most convenient for us.

God’s question for me: How often do you pray FOR MY SAKE?

God’s promise to me:  2 Corin 12:7  My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness.

My prayer to God:

  1. Adoration: Oh the glory of Your Presence!  How wonderful to know that your strength comes through my weaknesses.
  2. Confession: I am so easily side tracked and subconsciously seek to honor myself instead of you.
  3. Thanksgiving: I am so grateful to know You and to be reminded of how I must pray FOR YOUR SAKE.
  4. Supplication: Help our family to live more fully FOR YOUR SAKE and let Your strength be shown in our weaknesses.
What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

