God wants to Speak to YOU!

21 Jan

This may be the most important blog I have ever written!

Have you ever struggled in how to go about reading the Bible and praying?  For the past fifty plus years I have been seeking nearness to God through His Word and prayer.  I have tried various methods and the following format has evolved to be my favorite.

Let God Speak.  Rather than reading the scripture and considering the audience for which it was written, I let God speak to me through my chosen verses.  The change, for me, has been amazing.  Rather than thinking of God out there somewhere speaking to a different audience, I invite Him to tell me what He wants me to hear from these verses.  Talk about drawing near to God!  This has done it for me.

A Starting Place. If looking for a starting place I suggest the New Testament.  Start in Matthew and choose a few verses or the whole chapter.  In order to truly draw near to God Jesus is the starting point.  The story of Jesus is the account of God Himself coming to earth to demonstrate His love for humanity.  What He has said to me will be totally different from what He will say to you–for He knows us each intimately and will personalize the message just for each reader.

Outlive Your Life.  I am currently in the process of putting all of my previous blogs written on the New Testament, into a book. (Over 500 pages worth)  This book is to be my legacy I will leave for my family and coming generations.  In this way I will be outliving my life and sharing my faith in God with my family who will be born long after my hands are still and cold.  To think that I can influence some great, great, great, great-grandchild toward the Lord thrills me beyond measure.  My plan is to print these books and have them distributed at my funeral. Morbid?  Not at all–that is planning ahead to bless my family in things of eternal importance.

Span the Chasm.  How I wish my grandmothers, who both died before I was born, had written such a book for me.  There is a chasm that can never be spanned when you lose that intimate spiritual connection with your ancestors.  (You too can put your thoughts into a book format of your choosing, printed very inexpensively at Lulu,com)

You be the Author. May I encourage you to draw near to God yourself, not simply by reading others experiences, but by creating your own daily times of drawing near to God.  You are welcome to copy and use this format that has blessed me so for many years.   Now it is your turn to be the author and let God speak to you personally–as He longs to do–because of His great love for you.  You can just do this orally or write it down, like I have done for many years.  Oh, what a blessing it is for me to re-read over my previous blogs and be reminded once again of what God has said to me.

I would love to hear from you about what this has meant to you.  Or perhaps share your own ideas about how you draw near to our Lord.   We are here to bless one another and I hope sharing this outline is a blessing to you.  by Ellen Landreth

(Your name)________  Little Visits with God

James 4:8 “Come close to God, and he will come close to you.”

Title _______________________________ (Added after you are finished writing)

Scripture _____________________________________________

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

1-

 

2-

 

3-

 

God’s Question for me: (Based upon what God has said to you through this scripture)

 

God’s Promise to me: (Again, based upon all the above)

 

My Prayer to God: (The ACTS of Prayer in response to this conversation with God.)

  1. I Praise you for (Adoration)

 

 

  1. I am sorry for (Confession)

 

 

  1. Thank you for (Thanksgiving)

 

 

  1. Please help me (Supplication)
5 Responses to “God wants to Speak to YOU!”

  1. Virginia Patton January 21, 2016 at 4:05 pm #

    I think I want to try this, Ellen. Thanks for sharing your format and ideas!

    Like

    • ellenlandreth January 21, 2016 at 4:15 pm #

      I realize that everyone is drawn to a variety of ways to do their Bible study and prayer but I am so blessed by using this format I thought I would encourage others to try it too. You probably know Don DeWelt. He is the one who helped me format this by sharing with me his Personal Worship plan. It was wonderful but too long and complicated for me. I would spend 2 or 3 hours going through it. Can’t always spend that much time each day. My plan is a condensation.

      Like

  2. Judee Dufresne January 23, 2016 at 7:04 am #

    Praise God for your loving committed relationship with Him! Thank you for this awesome idea of sharing your format with us readers. You are God’s hands. God bless you dear Ellen! Thank you…Judee Dufresne On Jan 21, 2016 10:34 AM, “Ellens Little Visits With God” wrote:

    > ellenlandreth posted: “This may be the most important blog I have ever > written! Have you ever struggled in how to go about reading the Bible and > praying? For the past fifty plus years I have been seeking nearness to God > through His Word and prayer. I have tried various met” >

    Like

    • ellenlandreth January 23, 2016 at 8:30 am #

      What a blessing your comment is Judee! Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • judeeslittlevisitswithgod January 27, 2016 at 1:34 pm #

        My joy to thank you Ellen…I just entered my first “Judee’s Little Visiits With God” on WordPress…I feel so close to God…under His Wing…thank you again for sharing your format allowing this to occur. God bless you.

        Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

