A Dancing Heart

9 Oct

Sterling Principle # 13

Proverbs 23:15, 16,Dancing heart

Dear child, if you become wise, I’ll be a happy parent. My heart will dance and sing to the tuneful truth you’ll speak.

What sets your heart to dancing?  There is good news that gives us pleasure but it takes really good news to set our hearts to dancing.  Some of the best news ever is our children living wisely and making good choices.  When I hear of a person who murdered someone and has a life prison sentence I whisper a prayer for their parent.  That must be  heartbreaking!  Could anything cheer up such a parent?

Parenting is tricky!  It usually only happens to young people who don’t have a lot of years of wisdom under their belt.  The most formative years of children takes place with the most unprepared parents possible. But since that is the way God planned it, He will help parents manage.  A big problem is that young parents don’t understand that their children are their number one responsibility.  Caring for their physical needs is important but also their emotional and spiritual needs.  Be there for them—pray for them!

God is eager to help young parents.  But He won’t step in unless He is invited.  His book the Bible is full of the best parental advice.  But unless you read it you miss out.  And to miss out on God’s great advice is to change the direction of future generations.  The foundation we give our children will determine their decisions as adults. Dancing hearts don’t just happen by accident.  They are the result of setting a good example for your children while young.

God’s Question: Had any heart dancing moments lately?

God’s Promise: Just ask, I am eager to help you parent.

My Prayer to God:

I praise You for raising my kids well in spite of my failures.

I am sorry I didn’t understand this parenting thing earlier.

Thank You for the dancing heart you have given me.

Help me to live before all others as a good example of Your love.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

