Our Indelible Footprints

12 May

Exodus 34:  Moses meets God on Mt. Sinai a second time.

Lessons for Living Today:

The choices we make today impact our descendants down to the fourth generation.  the-life-you-touch-todayWe are all leaving a legacy.  Yet we so often live as though all that matters is the pleasure we find in the moment.  Their choices our ancestors made are fleshed out by us today.  We may think we are making our own unbiased choices but the seeds of our ancestors are sprouting in our daily lives, whether weed seeds or the beauty of the tamed flower.

The foods, drinks, chemicals, and thoughts we think all impact future generations—either negatively or positively. Our footprints show the choices we made and they are indelible.  They cannot be erased.  Like the word spoken they cannot be taken back.  This thought gives my life more meaning and hope.  I am not a lone individual living for the pleasure I can reap from life.  I am a link in the chain of family and my choices today affect the future.  Whatever I allow or refuse to allow impacts others.  That makes me feel so responsible and motivates me to live with intention.

The blood of our ancestors flows through our veins.  We are a conduit of that blood of life and pass it on to our descendants.  But while that blood of life remains flowing through our veins, we’re called to be good stewards of it.  It is only temporarily given but the life we draw from that blood is eternal.  The choices we make in the flesh determine our eternal destiny.  The highest calling in this life is to recognize God as creator and Jesus as His manifestation in the flesh.  God came to earth as Jesus and showed the extent of His love for humanity through His death on the cross.  His indelible love is given to flow through our lives into the lives of others.

God’s Question: What legacy will be left from your life?

God’s Promise: I do not ignore sin, but I am willing to forgive.

My Prayer to God:

I praise You for Your willingness to forgive my sin.

I am sorry I don’t live more intentionally for future generations.

Thank You for reminding me of my responsibility on Your behalf.

Help me leave faithful footprints of obedience to You.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

