Don’t Mess with God’s Best

21 Jan

Genesis 16: 2  Sarai said to Abram, “God has not seen fit to let me have a child.  Sleep with my maid.  Maybe I can get a family from her.”  Abram agreed to do what Sarai said.

Lessons for Living Today:

Our solutions to what we perceive as God’s problem always end in disaster.Only God I imagine Sarai felt pressure to produce a child since God had said their descendants would be as numerous as the stars in the sky.  Sarai’s solution to her childlessness problem affects us still today.  The child born to her maid, Ishmael, began a line of people who fight against God and His people to this day.  Had Sarai simply trusted God and let Him bring about the solution in His own time, all that could have been avoided.  She did eventually conceive and had a child at 99 years of age—a miracle in God’s own timing.

How many times have we jumped ahead of God and later regretted our decision?  One simple way we do this is in our finances.  Our society has provided every encouragement for us to buy now and pay later.  On every street corner is a “Cash Advance” store.  Yet God’s Word clearly says “Owe no man anything except for love.”  God’s plan is to plan ahead for purchases—don’t let impulse buying take control of our finances.  We always, and I stress always, regret the paying for what we bought on impulse.

Let’s invite God into our financial planning and we will find that God’s solutions are the best.  How we spend our money is a matter of trust in God.  In order to avoid spending now and regretting later, let’s let God’s Word guide our spending decisions.  Sharing with others is a high priority on God’s list. Children need to see this modeled in their homes and taught the importance of sacrificial sharing.  Sponsoring a child in a third world country teaches valuable lessons.   God’s best for us includes sacrificial sharing with others.

God’s Question: Any financial disasters you could have avoided?

God’s Promise: I always have your best in mind.

My Prayer to God:

I praise You for Your Word that guides us to Your best.

I am sorry I too often let impulse guide my words and deeds.

Thank You for not giving up on me when I fail.

Help me patiently reach out to others and lift them up.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

