The Extravagance of God

8 Oct

God’s Word: 2 Corinthians 9:1-15 (The Message)

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Do you wonder where My extravagance is when many go to bed hungry at night? grocery cart It all starts with the seed I created that makes your daily bread.  And then the great variety of fruits and vegetables that provide just what your body needs to grow strong and healthy.  The water to drink that literally keeps you alive.  I created it all just to keep you healthy and alive.  But what has happened?  Why do many still go to bed hungry?  I’ve provided for them but why aren’t they getting it? Because those who have aren’t sharing!

Instead of sharing those who have abundance rent storage sheds and build bigger and better homes.  Generosity does as much for the giver as the receiver.  Generosity is the fuel that lights the fire of love in your heart.  Once you “catch on fire” you are eager to keep passing on the flame of love. The ball is in your court.  I have provided for the needs of all but some are stockpiling and ignoring the needs of others. Do you not realize that you really are your brother’s keeper?  Your abundance is My blessing so that you are able to be generous with the needs of others.

Generosity gives birth to generosity!  Don’t stockpile My blessings for to do so will damage your very soul.  I’m not just talking about money folks.  What comfort have you received in a time of need?  Use that comfort and become a comforter to others.  What abilities and skills do you have?  How can you bless the lives of others by sharing your blessings?  Pass it on!  What is in your hand?  Use what you have to enrich others so that they too can pass it on and enrich others. Oh how I love it when the giver delights in the giving.

God’s Question: Are you hoarding or freely sharing?

God’s Promise: The stingy harm their very soul.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for Your extravagance in my life.

I am Sorry I have not helped others enough.

Thank You for this gentle reminder to care for others.

Please Help Me willingly share my time and resources.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

