Stay at Your Post

2 Oct

God’s Word 2 Corinthians 6:1-13  (The Message)

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses

There are things to be done at your post that only you can do. Ellen Redwoods If you desert your post important things will go undone: important things that I had planned out beforehand for you to do.  I do not control your choices, for I gave you free choice, yet I know what choices you will make.  Some of life’s most important posts to remain at are those of husband, wife, mother or father.  The words and deeds of the parents give the children permission to repeat.  What do you want your children to do?  Then grab the initiative and set the example.

This life is not a bed of roses.  Yet some go through life jumping from one bed to another—seeking that perfect utopia.  It won’t be found. Abdicating the post of marriage, that I designed, creates untold problems for your family that reaches into future generations.  No one can parent your children like their biological mother and father.  If you find yourself in that position, whether as a spouse or a child, do not give up hope—but stay at your post.  Abuse and pain are often learned behaviors.  Someone wasn’t holding up their post.  Don’t let that someone be you. I will be with you in rebuilding your life.

How to hang on to your post when the going gets tough.  My Word is filled with encouraging words to help you stay at your post.  The most basic instruction, which so often goes ignored, is to treat one another as you would treat Me.  Instead self is on the throne.  So many of the hard times would never come had you followed My basic instructions.  Even in hard time move forward with a pure heart, clear head, and steady hand.  Gentleness, holiness and honest love let My Word pass through your life into the lives of your spouse, and your children. Hang on and smell the roses of stability.

God’s Question: Are you living faithfully at your post?

God’s Promise: Deep joy abides when holding up your post.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for the truth of Your Word that blesses us.

I am Sorry I haven’t obeyed it more fully.

Thank You for never giving up on me.

Please Help Me never give up on others.

2 Responses to “Stay at Your Post”

  1. heidi cook October 2, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

    Hi Ellen.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on God’s word. This one touched me. I have been helping my dad for about six and a half years. He died this April and now I find myself seeking a new post. I would aprreciate prayers.
    Heidi

    Like

  2. Becky Benedeict October 3, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

    Thanks for this reminder about staying at my post. Though our post may seem insignificant, it’s needed to “make up the hedge” So glad I found your blog. I’m going to put a link to it on my blog!

    Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

