Fragrance or Stench?

24 Sep

God’s Word2 Corinthians 2:12-17  (The Message)

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Whatever you say, whatever you do, wherever you go—be sure you can look Me in the face. Stinks As a matter of fact, whenever you look in the face of another person it is the same as looking in My face.  To ignore the needs of others is to ignore Me.  To refuse to stand up for those who are voiceless is to refuse to stand up for Me.  My challenge to you is to so live that, whatever you say, whatever you do, wherever you go—you are on assignment from Me.  As you so live I will lead you from place to place in one perpetual victory parade.

You might not feel like it is a victory parade because not everyone will be celebrating with you.  To those whose hearts are open to My love and forgiveness your presence allows them to breathe in the exquisite fragrance of Christ.  Living in open obedience to Christ you give off a sweet scent that is redolent with life and recognized by those on the path to salvation. But those who have rejected Me and Christ will treat you more like the stench from a rotting corpse. Do not let this discourage you but let it serve to remind you that you are on the right path. Victory is yours no matter what they may say or do.

Some have abdicated My victory parade and turned it into glory for self.  They do this when they take My Holy Word, water it down and take it to the streets to sell cheap.  They can’t bear the reproach of the non-believers so they cheapen the message to appeal to the masses.  It makes them look good and pads their pockets in a way delivering My pure Word of Salvation will never do.  The message you live out and share with others should be the same message Christ delivered while on earth.   Do not turn from to the right or left but follow My Word and look me in the face as you live out My love before the world.

God’s Question: Been treated like garbage lately?

God’s Promise: My victory parade progresses garbage or not.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for the courage to join Your victory parade.

I am Sorry I don’t always feel victorious.

Thank You for reminding me of the victory ahead.

Please Help Me treat all others as though it were You.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

