We Interrupt This Parade

30 Apr

God’s Word: Acts 14:8-20

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Most people would be honored at a parade in their honor.  paradeThey would lap it up, enjoying the glory, even if they knew they didn’t deserve the attention.  Many a person’s downfall came over praise heaped on them.  In this passage, Paul drew upon My power and healed a man who was crippled from birth.  The crowds went wild saying “The gods have come down.”  Before they knew it a parade was organized in Paul and Barnabas’ honor.  Paul waved his arms to interrupt the parade, telling them they weren’t gods but simply men who came with a message from God.

The crowd gathered for the parade provided a large audience for Paul to share the message of salvation through Jesus.  They gave Paul their attention because they thought he was a god.  He explained the error of their ways and explained there was only one God who created the sky, earth, sea and everything in them.  Encouraging them to abandon silly god superstitions he invited them to embrace the living God.  Explaining that people don’t create gods but that God created people, he barely prevented them from honoring them as God.

What about you?  How do you react to the limelight?  Look at those in your world today that are currently in the limelight.  Can you see how temporary the limelight is?  How often those enjoying that position get out of control in their spending, their morals, and their life.  They often end up a heap of ruin because the jealous whisperers find fault at every turn.  It is a lose-lose situation—this limelight for all the wrong reasons.  Instead, I challenge you to interrupt any parades intended to honor you and instead point the people to My truths.

God’s Question: How have you used the limelights of your life?

God’s Promise: Those who honor Me will truly receive honor.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for reminding me that You are my hope and glory.

I am Sorry I have ever thought I was worthy of honor.

Thank You for not allowing me to receive too much honor.

Please Help Me honor You by all I think, say and do.

One Response to “We Interrupt This Parade”

  1. insideheathershead April 30, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    I love this so much. Especially this: “people don’t create gods but that God created people”. Let’s honor our Father and Creator and toot our horns for Him. 🙂

    Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

