God’s Last Straw

24 Apr

God’s Word: Acts 12:20-25

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Stepping into the arena of praise puts you in a dangerous spot.  Miley-Cyrus-Vma-award-430So, why it is an arena than many strive to enter?  It began long ago, in the Garden of Eden.  Eve was tempted to “become as God.”  Personal power draws humanity like a magnet.  Jesus was the only one who was able to handle personal power without letting it go to His head.  Everyone else checks their brain at the door when personal power is achieved.  It starts out so innocently—this tooting your own horn.

Striving for something beyond your reach puts you in dangerous territory.   There are so many temptations along that path to elevate self that are hard to resist.  When you begin to see the “awe” in the eyes of others when they look at you—watch out!  That look does something in your brain that changes everything.  You begin to think you really are something special and deserve special treatment.  From there on you are out of control.  Everything revolves around you and the lines between right and wrong become blurred.

The last straw is when you begin to think you are god.  In this passage King Herod proudly accepted the flattery of the people saying “The voice of God, The voice of God,” when he spoke.  Down through the ages I have seen it happen again and again.  Striving to be someone bigger and better than everyone else is always the path to downfall.  That is why I direct you to be content with what you have and be eager to help lift others up.  There is more contentment in lifting up others than lifting up yourself.  You don’t want to pull the last straw on Me.

God’s Question: What are you striving for today?

God’s Promise: Those who serve others are elevated in My sight.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for this reminder to not elevate self.

I am Sorry it is so easy to be tempted this way.

Thank You for protecting me from this temptation.

Please Help Me never elevate another person to Your level.

One Response to “God’s Last Straw”

  1. Lynn April 24, 2014 at 11:37 am #

    Hi Ellen,
    I think your posts are warm and loving. Thank you for sharing!
    And thank God for reminding me through your words. Sometimes it is hard to lift others up when I all think about is myself and jealousy overtakes me. Thank God He’s gracious enough to reveal that to me. Although sometimes I still struggle with the temptation of lifting myself higher than others, I am praying that God humbles me 🙂
    God bless you!

    Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

