Take up the Towel

12 Mar

God’s Word: Luke 22:24-38

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

If you desire greatness then take up the towel.volunteer It is those who serve that are greatest in My Kingdom.  As Christ came to serve, not to be served—that is His mandate for you too.  So don’t be looking for a cushy job at the top of the food chain.  Instead, take up the towel and become a servant to those you consider lower than yourself.  That is the path to greatness in My Kingdom.  I esteem the servants who care more for the needs of others than their own.  Yes, the ones who win Oscars in My realm are those who accept the responsibilities of caring for others.

There are no “holier than thou” positions in My Church.  So stay on your toes, always on the look-out for a way to take up the towel.  For it is in service that you will find your greatest blessings.  Anyone can accept accolades and rest on their laurels–but that feeling is short-lived.  True satisfaction in life comes when you give up your own pleasures to bless another.  Jesus set the example by stooping to wash the feet of his followers.  They hadn’t thought to wash his feet, as the lesser would offer the greater.  He showed them that the greater becomes the greater by offering service to the lesser.

This is one of the great mysteries of My Kingdom.  It is not a group of people climbing over each other to reach the top dog position.  It is a group of people offering a hand to those who need some extra encouragement.  But have no fear; I will not ask you to do that which I will not empower you to do.  Though the tasks before you seem more than your abilities—My power, working through you, will accomplish the task.  When you look at your accomplishments and realize that you could not have done that on your own—you receive confidence and deep peace.  For in serving others you are serving Me.

God’s Question: Are you looking to be served or to serve?

God’s Promise: My blessings flow upon My servants.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for this simple challenge to serve others.

I am Sorry I find it hard to forget My own needs.

Thank You for Jesus example of service.

Please help me willingly serve others as unto You.

One Response to “Take up the Towel”

  1. Kirsten Holmberg March 12, 2014 at 8:26 am #

    Great points, Ellen. A favorite (though piercing) quote of mine: “You know whether you have the heart of a servant when someone treats you like one.” I’m still in need of growth in this area!

    Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

