What’s in Your Bag?

26 Feb

God’s Word: Luke 19:11-27

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

At birth you came pre-packaged with a “bag of tools.” gifts and talents This “bag” was chosen to perfectly fit you and the abilities and passions I wove into the fabric of your being.  I give you complete freedom to use this “bag of tools” in any way you see fit.  You can use them to build a path to a better tomorrow or build a wall around yourself to shut others out.  Your tools are not the same as your neighbors’. They may not be the tools you wanted. But they are yours. You can complain and do nothing. Or you can start to build something amazing. The world will be blessed or cursed by the way you use your “tools.”

Not only did I give you your own personalized “bag of tools,” but the world has a need that only you can fill.  Will you spend your time and energy building trinkets that last only for awhile?  Or will you choose to build cathedrals that will span generations?  You see the “tools” I give you come with an expiration date.  You are their steward, their caretaker while you hold them in your possession.  The expiration date will come unexpectedly—when you cross the threshold of death.

To a steward is given both opportunity and responsibility.  On the day you “turn in” your “bag of tools” you will be responsible for how you used or abused them.  Did you hide them away, and try to pursue gathering others tools?  Or did you take them out and polish them up, sharpen them to the best of your ability and use them to bless humanity?  In blessing others you are blessing yourself and you are blessing Me.  While you hold their “tools” in your able hands, will you use them to build a stumbling block or a stepping stone?

God’s Question:  What are you doing with your “tools?”

God’s Promise: I designed your “bag of tools” to fit your needs.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for my “tools” and the joy they give.

I am Sorry I don’t use them more to honor You.

Thank You for reminding me to “build” for eternity.

Please help me choose my building projects wisely.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

