Praying With Persistence

18 Feb

God’s Word: Luke 18:1-8

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Parents hear a lot of requests from their children. tantrum6 It’s often for each new toy or goodie that they see.  They might persistently cry and plead over how bad they want it.  To give them everything they request demands a repeat of that behavior.  The result is a spoiled child that no one likes to be around.  The loving parent helps a child learn restraint and to be happy with what they have.  It takes a persistent parent to deal with the persistent demands of childhood.

Parents want to give good things to their children.  As your Father in Heaven, I too want to give you good things.  But just like earthly parents I know the difference between your needs and wants.  I know that answering every prayer will cause you to treat me as your genie in the sky.  Your requests become demands and your behavior towards others is likewise.  As a parent, I too listen to the heart, not the demands.  When a matter lies heavy on the heart it comes out the lips often—both in life and in prayer.

What are you most persistent about in your life and your prayers?  Is it all about self and your own desires or is their genuine care about the needs of others?  I can see to the heart of the matter.  If you could just listen in on the prayers sent My way. Many people aren’t asking for my guidance but demanding I do a certain thing, in a certain way, at a certain time.  They seem to forget that I have a most unique vantage point from all of time and eternity.  The prayers that most grab my attention are heart-felt prayers, persistently prayed, on behalf of real needs, not telling me what to do but asking for My intervention in whatever way I know best fills that need.  That grabs My attention!

God’s Question: Are your prayers demanding or submissive?

God’s Promise: My presence is enough to meet many of your needs.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for this reminder to pray persistently for real needs.

I am Sorry I have too often told you want I want done.

Thank You for patiently working with me.

Please help me care more about others needs than my own.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

