Lost Money

30 Jan

God’s Word: Luke 15:8-10

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

There is more than one way to lose your money.  burning moneyMore money is lost by foolish, excessive, living than by all the failed banks of time. “A dollar saved is a dollar earned,” is a spot-on statement.  And there are many ways to save money, other than stashing it under your mattress for a rainy day.  Lay off the luxuries!  Just because you can afford it doesn’t mean you should spend it.  It is not right that some live in the lap of excessive luxury while others struggle to rent their house.  My people, called by My name, should be open-handed with all those in true need.  Sharing your goods and money with those in need stores up treasures in heaven—will never be taken away.

You are My steward of what I have blessed you with.  My blessings aren’t given for you to hoard, but to share.  Instead you rent storage barns and hoard the excess while others go without the basic needs.  Do you not comprehend my statement that “as you do unto another you are in actuality doing it unto Me.”  In the same vein, what you withhold from another you are in actuality withholding from Me.

The bottom line of all this is that this world is temporary.  All that excess you buy and hoard for yourself, is all going to burn when Christ returns.  The only lasting thing is what you do for others and especially that you share the good news of Jesus offer of salvation.  On one hand you rejoice when you receive or save a bundle of money but care less about sharing My good news with others.  That is what generates rejoicing in heaven.  Focus your temporal life on what benefit will be realized in the next.  That, my dear friend, is lasting happiness and joy.

God’s Question: Will you live open-handed toward others?

God’s Promise: Earthly treasures vanish—heavenly treasures last!

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for this simple principle of eternal treasures.

I am Sorry I am not more giving with my money and time.

Thank You for patiently teaching Me your path.

Please help me live daily with eternity’s values in view.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

