Figure the Cost

28 Jan

God’s Word: Luke 14:25-34

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

The earthly Jesus, as you know Him, was God with skin.  GOHe came to earth to speak My Words, share My love, set My example and die as a sacrifice to bridge the gap sin had made between You and I.  He set aside being the God of all power and took on flesh so He could fully identify with you.  He counted the cost and you were more valuable than His own comfort.  He willingly lived and died the earthly way so that you could live and never die the heavenly way.

And what is your response?  Many seem to think Jesus is their “get out of jail free” card.  There is nothing they have to do—just show the Jesus card.  Only those who have forfeited reading My Book think that.  Yes, Jesus died so you may live, but the “get out of jail free” card is given to those who so believe in Jesus that they are willing to forfeit a life of self-serving ease to one of living for Jesus.  To take up His cross means to set your own pleasures aside in order to bless others and share His message of forgiveness and life eternal.

Jesus gave His followers this commission before He left earth.  (Matthew 28:19, 20) “God authorized and commanded Me to commission you:  Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the three-fold name: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you.  I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age.”  This “way of life” is all about living for the benefit of “others,” and setting self aside.  Use the talents and interests I have given you to further My kingdom, not your own.  As you live out this commission, I am with you daily.

God’s Question: What will you do today to benefit My kingdom?

God’s Promise: I will be with you daily as you obey this commission.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for this offer of Your daily presence.

I am Sorry I get so sidetracked with my own “stuff.”

Thank You for opening this window of understanding.

Please help me live my life to benefit You through others.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

