Choose Me! Choose Me!

15 Nov

God’s Word: Luke 6:12-16

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

What qualities was Jesus looking for when he chose His apostles? 15 Unsung-HeroIf you read the full account, recorded in the Bible, you will find He wasn’t looking for perfection.  Even the most zealous among them had their problems. They were just ordinary guys who responded to Jesus call to work with Him to spread the Gospel.  The honor of being chosen by Jesus carried with it a great deal of responsibility.  He didn’t call them to a life of ease but to put their lives on the line for what they knew to be the truth.

As ordinary humans they had their share of success and failure.  Jesus used them “just as they were.”  Now, as then, we are always looking for a few good men and women to step up and serve as ambassadors of compassion and grace to a hurting world.  You don’t have to be perfect because I forgive your shortcomings.  You just have to be available to reach out to the needs and concerns of others.  They will never know how much I love them unless they see how much you love them.

Whether you serve as an apostle or an ambassador—all are equal in My sight. Even the one who offers a cup of cold water in My name will receive My reward.  There is a fine line here between offering to another to make you look and feel like the hero, and doing it to honor Me.  The hero status is its own reward.  When you offer help to another as unto Jesus that is when I stand up and take notice. I accept that help personally.  It is literally the same as doing it to Me.  You are as valued in My sight as the best of the best apostles.  Your service, on My behalf, knits our hearts together with unbreakable bonds.

God’s Question: Will you do all your acts of service as unto Jesus?

God’s Promise: Nothing done, from a pure heart, goes unnoticed.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for this beautiful way to serve you.

I am Sorry I forget so easily that serving others is serving You.

Thank You for wanting even me to serve on Your behalf.

Please help me look for opportunities to serve You today.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

