Tempted or Tested?

6 Nov

God’s Word: Luke 4:1-13

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

The Devil’s goal is to keep people from My Word. Jesus and devil My Word, the Bible, holds the key to the abundant life here and now and life eternal in My presence.  Draw near to Me and My Spirit comforts, enlightens and strengthens you.  Apart from the strength of My Word, you are like a ship without a rudder, tossed to and fro by the temptations or testing’s of the Devil.  Ask yourself, “How often do I need comfort, enlightenment and strength?”  That is how often you should turn to My Word.  My presence is alive in My Word and interacts with your spirit.

The Devil is always on the lookout for people in their weakest state.  He knows that is when they have the least willpower and can easily be overcome by the temptation.  You’re tested when temptations come.  Will you pass the test or cave to the temptation.  If you have spent time with Me—in My Word—you can draw on that storehouse for strength when you are weak.  Spiritual nourishment is similar to physical nourishment.  How often do you need to eat, to drink, to exercise?  Just as you need regular physical nourishment you need regular times in My Word to keep your spirit strong.

Jesus’ example for confronting the Devil’s test will help you too.  He was tested in all ways, as you are, but responded to each test by quoting My Word.  You can follow that example and have victory.  But unless you are into My Word regularly, you don’t have that storehouse to draw upon.  The Devil works hard at keeping you from My Word so that you have no “armor” to resist his arrows of temptation.  Put on My “armor” daily by reading My Word and having your eyes opened to the many ways the Devil is testing you daily.

God’s Question: Will you pass or fail the tests of today?

God’s Promise: Draw near to Me and I will draw near to you.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for the amazing way Your Word speaks to me.

I am Sorry I don’t always listen and apply your teachings.

Thank You for always waiting for me in Your Word.

Please help me draw strength from You through Your Word.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

