The Missing Child

1 Nov

God’s Word: Luke 2:41-52

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Panic overtakes when a child is missing.  SONY DSCIt was that way for Mary and Joseph when Jesus was missing at 12 years of age.  They had been in Jerusalem for the Passover with a large group and started back home.  They assumed Jesus was with them but discovered he was not there.  They went back to Jerusalem looking for him.  Finding him in the temple, asking questions of the teachers, they were upset and hurt that he had not left with them the previous day.

Jesus reply was their first indicator that He knew why He had been born.  “Why were you looking for me?  Didn’t you know that I had to be here, dealing with the things of my Father?”  Each child born has a “bent,” a calling to a certain walk of life.  But in that walk they are free to choose the upper calling or follow the way of the world.  Prisons are full of those who chose to follow the way of the world and ignore My upper calling.  Countless victories are never reached because the person ignored the upper calling.  In My perfect plan there are tasks for you to do.  If you ignore them—they are left undone.

Parents, watch for the “bent” of your child and help launch them in life—following My upper calling on their lives. Teach them from a young age, through both word and deed, the value of serving others.  Let them see you selflessly sharing of your time and resources with others in need.  Involve them in this sharing.  A child that is served, instead of being taught to serve, may easily miss out on My upper calling in his/her life. Make it your life’s aim to be sure none of your children are “missing” out on My calling to the abundant life.

God’s Question: Will you help Me find my missing children?

God’s Promise: Train up a child according to their “bent” and you have helped them grasp my calling for their life.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for your intervening in my children’s lives.

I am Sorry I didn’t parent perfectly.

Thank You for calling my children, in spite of me.

Please help me always follow Your upper calling.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

