Overwhelmed with Mercy

25 Oct

God’s Word: Luke 1:57-80

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

John (the Baptist), born to his parents in their old age brought their community together in celebration. 04 John the Baptist Zachariah and Elizabeth were overwhelmed with mercy because they clearly knew this child was destined to be used in My plan of the world’s redemption.  Zachariah, was deeply moved and spoke out praise and understanding through the anointing of My Holy Spirit.  He recounted the promises I had given years earlier and stated, “we can worship God without a care in the world, made holy before Him as long as we live.

Every child born has a purpose, a hope and a future.  John’s future was to lay the groundwork for Jesus as the Messiah.  For eons the Jewish people had watched for the promised Messiah.  John came to tell them—the time had finally come.  “The forgiveness of sins was on the horizon.  God’s sunrise was about to break forth.”  John’s message was to show humanity the way, one foot at a time, down the path of praise.

How many times has your life been overwhelmed with mercy? Far too often you have become hardened to the mercy’s surrounding your life.  You expect it!  You don’t give Me praise you simply expect it of Me.  No, I hear not one word of praise from your lips.  But when the tide turns, and troubles come pouring down, you certainly lift your voices to me—in complaint.  The one who looks for the good in life, and gives Me the praise for it, will find the need to complain taken away.  Even in life’s troubles there are so many opportunities for joyous praise.   Praise alters the hearts perception of life’s happenings.

God’s Question: Are you on the look-out for times to praise?

God’s Promise: Praise opens the path-way into My presence.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You that there are always plenty of things to praise You for.

I am Sorry I take so many of your mercies for granted.

Thank You for being so patient with me.

Please help me be as patient with others as I wish You to be with me.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

