Surprised by God

23 Oct

God’s Word: Luke 1: 26-36

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

My surprises are always given to bless all of humanity.  03 surprisedNo one is an island but all lives are woven into the thread of humanity.  When one is blessed—all are blessed.  This is especially true in this passage where the Virgin Mary is given the news that she will give birth to the Son of God—before she ever slept with a man.  She did not question what the future would look like nor the scorn she would receive.  She believed My messenger, Gabriel, and graciously accepted the surprise I handed her.

What difference would it make if all mothers treated their babies with the same expectation Mary treated Jesus?   She knew He was special but He still needed the same care as any newborn.  Don’t you suppose that all her interactions with this growing child held a certain element of wonder?  Oh that each child conceived were treated with this same wonderful care.  The parent’s care influences the bent of the child.  If each child were treated as Mary treated Jesus, the world would be a far better place.

A child abused or scorned by their parents will always struggle to overcome that handicap.  Think how a child that is loved, protected and nurtured by the parents has a wonderful advantage in life.  I match the opportunities in life with the bent of each individual.  The parents care and training of a child prepares them to discover their place in society.  Their place is always meant to benefit others, to contribute to the good of humanity.  As Mary, called to parent My Son, you too are called to parent your children as unto Me.

God’s Question: Will you accept every pregnancy as Mary did hers?

God’s Promise: Nothing is Impossible for Me.

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for the miracle of birth and the privilege of parenting.

I am Sorry I didn’t always treat my children as unto You.

Thank You for entrusting me with children to raise for You.

Please help me be Your faithful witness until death.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

