Would you be Chosen?

5 Aug

God’s Word: Mark 3:7-20

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

In the throngs of people who followed Jesus, He chose 12 and set them apart as His Apostles.  ChosenThe plan for them was that they would be with Him and He would then send them out to proclaim the Word and banish demons.  You might say these were the “cream of the crop” of followers.  Each of them brought unique capabilities to the table.  They were ready and available when Jesus chose them to go on mission for Him.

Suppose you would have been in that crowd of Jesus followers?  What is there about you that would have caused Jesus to choose you?  Do you know He is still choosing people today?  His original 12 have long been gone but there continues to me work to be done—a message to be delivered to all of mankind.  His invitation goes out to everyone but only those who respond are chosen for His tasks.  Have you responded?  What is there about your life that would cause others to notice that you are a Jesus follower?

What beat of the drum are you following?  The words you speak and the activities you partake in tell the world what drum you are following.  The drum of pleasure is often the loudest.  You have to ignore that drum and listen closely to that gentle drum that calls you to reach out to the needs of others.  Though you might think there is much satisfaction in pleasure you will find that it is short-lived.  True pleasure that is the result of service is both fulfilling and motivating.  That is the pleasure I give to those who follow the drum of Jesus.

God’s Question:  What drum-beat is calling for your attention?

God’s Promise:  I take your treatment of others personally.

knee mail

My Prayer to God:

I Praise You for calling me into Your service.

I am Sorry I fail to step out for You all too often.

Thank You for helping me in my weaknesses.

Please help me listen to and follow your drum call.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

