The Thistles Remain

23 Apr

God’s Word: Matthew 13:24-35

God’s Message to me: (My interpretation of what God is saying in these verses)

Some plant—some harvest.  weed heartBe careful what you plant in your heart for from that planting the harvest will come—be it good or ill.  For every good seed you plant, there are deceivers scattering their weed seeds far and wide—through many different means.  What is it that is influencing your planting?  Whatever you allow into your heart through the senses, affects the harvest.  What are you watching, listening to, touching, tasting, or smelling.  These are the areas through which temptations enter your heart to corrupt the good seed planted there.

The weeds influence and diminish the harvest. In the same way, sin influences and diminished the harvest of good that comes from your life.  In this Bible passage an “enemy” came in and spread weed seeds in the field planted with good wheat seeds.  To pull up the weeds would have also destroyed the good seed so they grew together until harvest and were then separated.  The weeds were burned and the good plants used for food.

It takes good strong seed to withstand the weeds.  I have provided the means for you keeping two steps ahead of the weeds that are penetrating the hearts of mankind.  I have provided My Word where I interact with your heart, and prayer, the way for you to communicate with Me.  This is the only way to keep ahead of the weeds of sin that are bombarding your senses every day.  Ignore my provision and be assured that the weeds are taking over your life and you aren’t even aware of it.  Yes, the thistles remain but the strong seed of My Word will hold them at bay.

God’s Question: Are you planting My Word in your heart?

God’s Promise:  I will never leave nor forsake the one who has planted My Word in their heart.

My Prayer to God

I praise You for Your wonderful Word that blesses my life.

I am sorry that many weed seeds have entered my heart.

Thank You for helping me combat the weeds of sin.

Help me to be Your ambassador to my world.

3 Responses to “The Thistles Remain”

  1. Kevin April 23, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Hi, since you didn’t mention the particular plant used in the image, I was wondering if you knew that the heart shaped plant in the image is marijuana. Don’t misunderstand my mentioning this, it is not bothersome at all to me. Just thought if you didn’t know that you might like to know. The picture is of some pretty premium bud 🙂

    Like

    • ellenlandreth April 23, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

      No I did not know this. Thank you. Guess it shows you I am not a marajuana user huh! That is sort of funny.

      Ellen

      Like

      • Kevin April 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

        Yeah that was my conclusion, but isn’t that what God is all about? Innocence, see no evil, hear no evil… but I did wonder if you knew. Thanks

        Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

