Skip The Drama

4 Mar

God’s Word:  Matthew 6:16-18 Jesus said, “When you practice some appetite-denying discipline to better concentrate on God, don’t make a production out of it.  It might turn you into a small-time celebrity but it won’t make you a saint.  If you ‘go into training’ inwardly, act normal outwardly.  Shampoo and comb your hair, brush your teeth, wash your face.  God doesn’t require attention-getting devices.  He won’t overlook what you are doing; He’ll reward you well.” 

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying in these verses)

Skip the drama when you concentrate on God. kneeling_prayer1 So many people thrive on drama to draw attention to self.  They can turn any occasion into a drama.  I’ve said it before but you need to be reminded–God isn’t impressed with your drama.  Instead, He’s impressed with your sincere and humble appeals when you come before Him in private.

When life throws you a curve ball I am there with you.  You don’t need to post your distress on facebook in order to draw more attention to your sorry plight.  You may think you are doing this to make sure I am focusing on you but what you are really doing is seeking to draw the attention and sympathy of others.

Instead, when in distress, do whatever seems right in order to better concentrate on Me.  You might choose to skip eating for awhile to deny yourself and better focus on Me.  But let it be private, just between you and Me.  Don’t put on a long face, refuse to comb your hair, or create drama so others will notice you.  Instead, focus your thoughts on God, and devote your public moments in service to others.

Jesus’ Question for Me: Will you choose to skip the drama and spend your energy in sincere prayer and petition?

Jesus’ Promise to Me:  God, who sees what’s done in secret will reward you openly.

My Prayer to God

I praise You for being my stronghold in times of uncertainty.

I am sorry for the times I have broadcast my drama.

Thank you for being all I need when I face challenges.

Help me leave my burdens with You and reach out to others with joy and encouragement for they have troubles too.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

