The Seed-Bed of Murder

6 Feb

God’s Word:  Matthew 5: 21-22  Jesus said, “You’re familiar with the command to the ancients, ‘Do not murder.’ I’m telling you than anyone who so much is angry with a brother or sister is guilty of murder.  Carelessly call a brother ‘idiot!’ and you just might find yourself hauled into court.  Thoughtlessly yell ‘stupid!’ at a sister and you are on the brink of hellfire.  The simple moral fact is that words kill. 

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying in these verses)

The seed-bed of murder is hate.  That is the reason I taught you to “love one another, as I have loved you.”  The anrgyopposite of hate is love—that supreme concern for the well-being of another, with no regards to what you receive yourself.  Hate is the supreme concern for self, with no regards for the well-being of another.

I did not cancel the Old Testament Law; I fulfilled it, ushering in a whole new era of living based on love, not laws.  Where love reigns, law is not needed for love fulfills law.  Love wipes out the hate that would lead to murder.  But this kind of love is a conscious choice.  It enters your life when you accept my sacrifice on your behalf and you pass it on to others–all others that you have contact with.

As long as you are in the flesh you will have anger that can be used for good or evil.  Anger is a good thing as long as you allow it to motivate you toward doing good for others, rather than hating and killing.  You will know when your anger is moving into a dangerous area when you begin name calling.  Nip it in the bud by forgiveness.  When someone has done the unforgiveable to you–simply let go and let Me help you master the anger and focus it in productive ways.

Jesus’ Question for Me:  Will you refuse to allow hate to result from your emotion of anger?

 Jesus’ Promise to Me: Those who believe in Me and follow Me will receive My strength when it comes to controlling and focusing anger.

My Prayer to God:

I praise You for Your very present help in times of trouble.

I am sorry I have often chosen anger over turning to You.

Thank You for drawing me back to You time and time again.

Help me control my anger through Your strength and be a blessing to others instead of a pain.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

