Learning to Lean

18 Jan

God’s Word:  Matthew 5:4  You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you.  Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you. 

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying in these verses)leaning on Jesus

“It can’t be” you say!  “There is no blessing in losing what is most dear to me!”  Blessings from Me come wrapped in a myriad of disguises.  The blessing is not in the losing but in what you will discover in your loss.  When the eyes of your heart are washed with tears you gain a new vantage point.  That is the gift of My embrace.  When you mourn I am near and hold you in My embrace. Lean on Me!

Weeping may come for a night, but joy comes “through” the mourning!  The gift of life brings with it many losses.  This world–this life–it’s all temporary.   Only through loss are you able to clearly see what is most valuable in life—relationships with others and with Me.  This new insight you gain through loss will bring you a blessed peace and new appreciation for all you do have.  Lean on Me!

I will never leave you or forsake you!   I stand always ready to embrace you once you turn to Me in your sorrow.  Even if you aren’t aware of My presence, I am there.  But once you acknowledge Me you will realize how dearly I love you and want to bless you in the midst of your pain and loss.  There is blessing in My embrace for the one who turns to Me for comfort and peace.  Lean on Me!

Jesus’ Question for Me: Will you simply trust Me and lean on Me through all your losses?

Jesus’ Promise to Me:  I am only a tear-drop away. Lean on Me!

My Prayer to God:

I praise You for Your abiding presence that comforts me in all losses.

I am sorry that I ever complain or feel alone because You are there.

Thank You that I can always depend upon your nearness to comfort.

Help me to more fully live out this promise of Yours and use me to give your comfort to others in their need.  I want to be Your ambassador of mercy.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

