Four Intolerables

1 Nov

God’s Word:  Proverbs 30:21-23

God’s Message to Me:

“Three things are too much for even the earth to bear, yes, four things shake its foundations:”

1. When the janitor becomes the boss: When a person is placed in a position they did not train for nor have the qualifications for that responsibility, they often become “drunk with power.”  Many foolish choices are made when the person in charge is not worthy of their position. The business will fail with foolish leadership.

2. When a fool gets rich:  Wisdom is needed to handle money.  The fool squanders his money and is left poorer than he was before he got rich.  Such a waste.

3. When a whore is voted “woman of the year:” This shows the degradation of society.  As with the janitor and fool, this is putting someone in a position they are not qualified to receive.

4. When a girlfriend replaces a faithful wife: Again, this is such foolishness and has such far reaching, painful effects on so many people—the wife, children, the grandparents and extended family.

A society that rejects My wisdom, found in My Word, becomes foolish in their very thinking.   Foolishness unleashed devastates the family, the community, the government, the world.  My wisdom, found in my Word, builds and gives strength in all these areas.

God’s Question to Me:  Have you accepted My wisdom found in My Word or are you floundering around without a moral compass?

God’s Promise to Me:   “Come unto Me, all you who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest.”

 My Song to God:          Holy Bible, Book Divine        by John Burton 1803

Holy Bible, Book divine,
Precious treasure, thou art mine;
Mine to tell me whence I came;
Mine to teach me what I am.

Mine to chide me when I rove;
Mine to show a Savior’s love;
Mine thou art to guide and guard;
Mine to punish or reward.

Mine to comfort in distress;
Suffering in this wilderness;
Mine to show, by living faith,
Man can triumph over death.

Mine to tell of joys to come,
And the rebel sinner’s doom;
O thou holy Book divine,
Precious treasure, thou art mine.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

