Real Survivors

24 Oct

God’s Word:  Proverbs 28:19-29

God’s Message to Me:

“If you think you know it all, you’re a fool for sure; real survivors learn wisdom from others.”  Learn from the successes and failures of others.  Wisdom is common sense in working clothes.  Real survivors work their gardens instead of playing and partying.  They know that committed and persistent work pays off—get rich schemes are rip-offs.

Real survivors put common sense into practice in all their decisions. The one in a hurry to get rich will end up broke—just common sense.  Anyone who will rob their parents and say “What’s wrong with that?” is worse than a pirate.  Real survivors appreciate serious reprimand far more than bootlicking flattery.

Real survivors are not grasping to elevate self.  They trust in Me and receive a sense of well-being.  They are generous to the poor remembering that I take their treatment of others personally.  They know that shutting your eyes to the needs of others brings only curses back into your own life.  Learn wisdom from a real survivor.

God’s Question to Me:  Are others learning wisdom by watching your life and following your example?

God’s Promise to Me:   Real survivors are those who have put their trust in Christ and follow His example of living for others.

My Song to God:        Thy Word Have I Hid In My Heart

Thy Word is a lamp to my feet,

A light to my path alway,

To guide and to save me from sin,

And show me the heav’nly way.

Chorus:

Thy Word have I hid in my heart,

That I might not sin against Thee;

That I might not sin, that I might not sin,

Thy Word have I hid in my heart.

 

Forever, O Lord, is Thy Word

Established and fixed on high;

Thy faithfulness unto all men

Abideth forever nigh.

Chorus:

Thy Word have I hid in my heart,

That I might not sin against Thee;

That I might not sin, that I might not sin,

Thy Word have I hid in my heart.

 

At morning, at noon, and at night

I ever will give Thee praise;

For Thou art my portion, O Lord,

And shall be through all my days!

Chorus:

Thy Word have I hid in my heart,

That I might not sin against Thee;

That I might not sin, that I might not sin,

Thy Word have I hid in my heart.

 

Thro’ Him Whom Thy Word hath foretold,

The Savior and Morning Star,

Salvation and peace have been brought

To those who have strayed afar.

Chorus:

Thy Word have I hid in my heart,

That I might not sin against Thee;

That I might not sin, that I might not sin,

Thy Word have I hid in my heart.

One Response to “Real Survivors”

  1. rcottrill October 31, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. I posted an article on the hymn you quoted this morning, so your blog caught my eye. If ever we needed a light to guide us through the darkness, it’s the days in which we live. Your comments on “real survivors” sound much like the book of Proverbs (where I am currently in my devotional reading). God bless, and give you His light for the pathway today.

    Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

