What’s Your Motive?

21 Aug

God’s Word:  Proverbs 21:1-8

God’s Message to Me: 

Mixed motives twist life into tangles; pure motives take you straight down the road.  You may try to make your motives look good but I am able to “read” the motivation behind your motive.  The motives I am looking for are clean living and justice with your neighbors.  That means far more to me than religious performance.

Examine your motives before you make your plan.  Careful planning, with pure motives, puts you ahead in the long run; but hurry and scurry puts you farther behind.  Your plans follow your motives.  More important to Me are your motives than the result of all your words and deeds.  Consider your motives before you make decisions about how you will spend your time and what you will spend your money on.

You can’t hide your motives for long.  Selfish motives cause you to get buried alive by all your loot.  Why buy bigger barns to store your loot in?  It is fruitless!  Instead, if you have more than you need—share it with others.  I long to bless those with motives of giving themselves on behalf of others.  That is the example I provided you through Jesus death on the cross.  That is the motive I am searching your heart to find.

God’s Question to Me:  Have you a pile of “loot” that is nothing but a noose around your neck?  Seek those who would be blessed by that loot.

God’s Promise to Me:  To those who choose to align their motives with My motives I will give joy, peace and life everlasting.

My Song to God:              Freely, Freely       by Carol Owens

God forgave my sin in Jesus’ name.
I’ve been born again in Jesus’ name
And in Jesus’ name I come to you
To share his love as he told me to.

He said ‘Freely, freely you have received;, freely, freely give.
Go in my name, and because you believe others will know that I live.

All pow’r is giv’n in Jesus’ name
in earth and heav’n in jesus name
And in Jesus’ name I come to you
To share his pow’r as he told me to.

He said ‘Freely, freely you have received;, freely, freely give.
Go in my name, and because you believe others will know that I live.

God gives us life in Jesus’ name
he lives in us in Jesus’ name
And in Jesus’ name I come to you
To share his peace as he told me to.

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

