Chalice of Knowledge

10 Jul

God’s Word:  Proverbs 20:12-20

God’s Message to Me:

Drinking from the beautiful chalice of knowledge is better than adorning oneself with gold and rare gems.  Ignorance is not bliss, it is amiss.  Knowledge opens up new worlds of understanding.  But, I must caution you, not all knowledge is beneficial.  If you will follow my advice in Philippians 4:8 you will open the beautiful chalice of knowledge. “Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.”

There is a vast world of knowledge at your fingertips. You have the right to explore whatever your heart chooses.  But always keep in mind that not all knowledge is beneficial or constructive.  I have created you with your passions and desires with the bottom line to use those abilities to make the world a better place for your fellow travelers.  It’s not all about adorning yourself with gold and rare gems.

Your knowledge can be as gold and rare gems as it goes about the world, sparkling into the lives of others.    Unless you are blessing others by using your knowledge it is fruitless.  The world seeks knowledge but to what end?  To benefit self.  Drink from my beautiful chalice of knowledge found in My Word and be a blessing to others and you yourself will find the blessing that satisfies completely.

God’s Question to Me:   Are you drinking from My beautiful chalice of knowledge—My Word—and using that knowledge to bless others?

God’s Promise to Me:  My Word added to the passions and desires I have give you creates a chalice you can offer your world that will bless and benefit their lives.

 My Song to God:   Open My Eyes   by Clara H. Scott 1895

Open my eyes, that I may see
Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;
Place in my hands the wonderful key
That shall unclasp and set me free.

Refrain

Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready my God, Thy will to see,
Open my eyes, illumine me,
Spirit divine!

Open my ears, that I may hear
Voices of truth Thou sendest clear;
And while the wave notes fall on my ear,
Everything false will disappear.

Refrain

Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready my God, Thy will to see,
Open my eyes, illumine me,
Spirit divine!

Open my mouth, and let me bear,
Gladly the warm truth everywhere;
Open my heart and let me prepare
Love with Thy children thus to share.

Refrain

Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready my God, Thy will to see,
Open my eyes, illumine me,
Spirit divine!

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

