An Acquired Taste

21 May

God’s Word:  Proverbs 5:1-14

God’s Message to Me:

Good sense is an acquired taste.  You best do all in your power to develop this taste for it will keep you out of trouble.  Many are the troubles that flaunt the life of a foolish person that refuses to act wisely.  There have always been and always will be, seductions along life’s pathway that will call out to your foolish nature.  How many times have your choices for immediate pleasure turned out to be gravel in your mouth?

The pleasures I offer you are lasting and true.  You won’t regret walking down My pathway of peace and joy.  There will be no morning after sorrows.  But wisdom is an acquired taste that means you have to say no to some of life’s choices.  Look not only at the choice before you but the end result of that choice.  If it holds potential pain then turn and run away as fast as you can.

Beware of the empty promises of pleasure.  You only see the primrose path before you but at the end of that path is sorrow and death.  Acquiring a taste for wisdom will protect you for this seductive path.  Live with the future in mind—not only the present pleasure.  It is a painful place to live in the land of regrets.

God’s Question to Me:  What will you do today that helps you resist the foolish pleasures that lure you away from My path of peace?

God’s Promise to Me:  I freely hand out wisdom to those who ask and choose to live for the future reward instead of the present pleasure.

My Song to God:  Fill My Cup Lord

Like the woman at the well I was seeking
For things that could not satisfy;
And then I heard my Savior speaking:
“Draw from my well that never shall run dry”.

Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

There are millions in this world who are craving
The pleasures earthly things afford;
But none can match the wondrous treasure
That I find in Jesus Christ my Lord.

Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

So, my brother, if the things this world gave you
Leave hungers that won’t pass away,
My blessed Lord will come and save you,
If you kneel to Him and humbly pray:

Fill my cup Lord, I lift it up, Lord!
Come and quench this thirsting of my soul;
Bread of heaven, Feed me till I want no more–
Fill my cup, fill it up and make me whole!

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

