True Colors

4 Apr

God’s Word:  Matthew 7:15-20  Jesus said, “Be wary of false preachers who smile a lot, dripping with practiced sincerity.  Chances are they are out to rip you off some way or other.  Don’t be impressed with charisma; look for character.  Who preachers are is the main thing, not what they say.  A genuine leader will never exploit your emotions or your pocketbook.  These diseased trees with their bad apples are going to be chopped down and burned.”

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying to me through these verses)

As in every upright profession, temptations enter that cause one to turn from honesty to manipulate for personal benefit.  In the case of false preachers, for the most part, they were honest men who ignorantly allowed Satan to turn them aside from following My truth.  Satan doesn’t have to work very hard because mankind is so prone to selfishness.  A gifted speaker attracts a following and that is dangerous because that speaker may be tempted to manipulate that following to his own advantage. No one is free from this temptation to become a bad apple.

This is why it is very important that you read and understand the Bible.  That is the only foot you have to stand on when deciding if a preacher is teaching falsehoods.  False preachers have been tempted to interpret the Bible in a way that benefits them.  They teach things that the audience wants to hear in order to keep the crowds coming—rather than teaching the plain truth of the Word.  The larger the audience—the larger the collection.

This is why, in the book of James, it says “Be not many of you teachers, knowing you will receive the greater condemnation.”  False teaching doesn’t just hurt the teacher but all those who are “following” that speaker.  And those hearers will in turn pass on that teaching as the Gospel Truth to others.  You would do well to not put any other person on a pedestal and accept all they say as true.  Their true colors are easily seen in how they live their life.  A man’s life and his teaching must be in unity with the Bible.  Don’t put on your sunglasses but let the true colors be evident.

Jesus’ Question for Me: Are you praying regularly for Biblical teachers that they will not fall into Satan’s trap and be lured into selfish aspirations?

Jesus’ Promise to Me:  Do not be deceived, you will reap what you sow!

My Song to Jesus:  I Would be Like Jesus    James Rowe

Earthly pleasures vainly call me

I would be like Jesus;

Nothing worldly shall enthrall me

I would be like Jesus:

 

Chorus:

Be like Jesus this my song

In the home and in the throng;

Be like Jesus all day long!

I would be like Jesus.

 

He has broken every fetter

I would be like Jesus;

That my soul may serve Him better

I would be like Jesus:

 

Chorus:

Be like Jesus this my song

In the home and in the throng;

Be like Jesus all day long!

I would be like Jesus.

 

All the way from earth to glory

I would be like Jesus;

Telling o’er and o’er the story

I would be like Jesus.

 

Chorus:

Be like Jesus this my song

In the home and in the throng;

Be like Jesus all day long!

I would be like Jesus.

 

That in Heaven He may meet me

I would be like Jesus;

That His words “Well done” may greet me,

I would be like Jesus:

 

Chorus:

Be like Jesus this my song

In the home and in the throng;

Be like Jesus all day long!

I would be like Jesus.

 

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

