Nothing to Worry About

23 Mar

God’s Word:  Matthew 6:34  Jesus said, “Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.  God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.”

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying to me through these verses)

Worry over tomorrow steals the beauty from today.  The only moment you have to live is the moment you are now living.  When you worry about what may or may not happen tomorrow, you actually do physical and emotional damage to your body.  It is completely fruitless to worry about tomorrow!  Live in the moment!  Rejoice in My love and forgiveness and be busy spreading that around to others.  Then you have no time to worry about tomorrow.

You don’t need to know what tomorrow may bring for I will be there too.  I will personally provide you with the strength to endure whatever good or ill may come your way.  Life is fatal!  You all know that but instead of preparing your souls to meet Me in heaven you worry over the details of the living and dying.  I say to you LIVE in the present—do not worry about the future—just do your best to prepare.  Leave the rest to Me.  I will care for you.

Yes, loved one, there is a reward at the end of the rainbow.  Eternal life, free from all the worries of the earthly life is awaiting those who reach out to Me for forgiveness and a ticket to life everlasting.  The only need to worry in this life is if you haven’t received your ticket and got your passage secured.  Whosoever will may come.  I’ve laid out the simple instructions in My Word.  Read and heed so I can welcome you with open arms.

Jesus’ Question for Me: Do you believe Me enough to trust me for all your tomorrows?  (I already know them and promise to be with you.)

Jesus’ Promise to Me: You can be victorious in whatever comes your way because My strength abides within those who believe in Me.

My Song to Jesus:  I know who holds tomorrow    Ira Stanphill  1967

I don’t know about tomorrow, I just live from day to day;
I don’t borrow from its sunshine,
For its skies may turn to gray.
I don’t worry o’er the future, For I know what Jesus said;
And today I’ll walk beside Him, For He knows what lies ahead

(chorus)
Many things about tomorrow I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow, and I know who holds my hand

Ev’ry step is getting brighter
As the golden stairs I climb; ev’ry burden’s getting lighter,
Ev’ry cloud is silver-lined.
There the sun is always shining,
There no tear will dim the eye;
At the ending of the rainbow, Where the mountains touch the sky.

(chorus)
Many things about tomorrow I don’t seem to understand;
But I know who holds tomorrow, and I know who holds my hand

The legend behind the hymn according to a religious blog is that Stanphill wrote I Know Who Holds Tomorrow during the dissolution of his marriage. According to acquaintances, Stanphill’s wife grew tired of his ministry during its zenith and left him to pursue a career of her own in entertainment. Sadly, she was killed in a car crash sometime thereafter. The lyrics aptly convey the emotions of listlessness and doubt Ira Stanphill encountered while going through such a difficult period in life.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

