Open the Blinds

19 Mar

God’s Word:  Matthew 6:22, 23   Jesus said, “Your eyes are windows into your body.  If you open your eyes wide in wonder and belief, your body fills up with light.  If you live squinty-eyed in greed and distrust, your body is a dank cellar.  If you pull the blinds on your windows, what a dark life you will have.”

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying to me through these verses)

God is light, pure light; there’s not a trace of darkness in him.  I came to the earth as God’s Ambassador of light to enlighten mankind to the path of salvation I came to provide.  While these verses talk about the eyes as lighting the body, there is a deeper meaning.  As you open your eyes in wonder to the world around you, I invite you to open the eyes of your heart to the good news of salvation I made available for all who would believe.

The light of salvation brightens not only your eternity but your life each day.  It provides you a whole new lens through which to view your life, your world, and all others.  Keep your eyes wide open to the teaching of God’s Word instead of living squint-eyed and not enjoying the glorious view I have provided.  In my light you see others as opportunities to respond to My love for you.  As you do for them you are in heaven’s reality—doing for Me.

Take off those sun-glasses and let My light shine into your heart.  I bring you light and love and hope.  I came to earth to give you an abundant life.  This abundant life does not depend upon accumulating wealth.  It opens your eyes wide to the beauty of living a self-less life as My ambassador, on assignment from Me, to love others on my behalf.  As My light shines into your life—you become a beacon of hope to enlighten the lives of those your life touches.  Pass on the light!

Jesus’ Question for Me: Will you reach out to others with the Light of love I have given you?

Jesus’ Promise to Me:  As I shared the light of God’s love with you, I will be with you as you share it with others.  I will never leave you nor forsake you.

My Song to Jesus: 

The whole world was lost in the darkness of sin,
The Light of the world is Jesus!
Like sunshine at noonday, His glory shone in;
The Light of the world is Jesus!

Refrain:
Come to the light, ’tis shining for thee;
Sweetly the light has dawned upon me;
Once I was blind, but now I can see:
The Light of the world is Jesus!

No darkness have we who in Jesus abide;
The Light of the world is Jesus!
We walk in the light when we follow our Guide!
The Light of the world is Jesus!

Ye dwellers in darkness with sin-blinded eyes,
The Light of the world is Jesus!
Go, wash at His bidding, and light will arise;
The Light of the world is Jesus!

No need of the sunlight in Heaven we’re told;
The Light of the world is Jesus!
The Lamb is the Light in the city of gold,
The Light of the world is Jesus!

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

