A Knitting Lesson

12 Mar

God’s Word:  Matthew 6:5, 6,   Jesus said, “And when you come before God, don’t turn that into a theatrical production either.  All these people making a regular show out of their prayers, hoping for stardom! Do you think God sits in a box seat?  Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quite, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage.  The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace.” 

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying to me through these verses)

Prayer is knitting your heart to the heart of God.  Praying in public causes a strain to that knitting because others are listening.  You are not praying privately but publicly.  You are leading the community before God.  Take special effort to humbly step into the presence of God and not to “look or sound good” before others.  Always, there is mankind’s temptation to turn any public event into drawing attention to self.

True heart to heart knitting with God happens best in secret.  When no one is watching or listening you are free to set aside all pretenses and be yourself in God’s presence.  It would be foolishness to be anything but honest, since God knows you even better than you know yourself.  This could be likened to a child admitting some action to a parent.  The parent already knows what the child did but also knows how important it is for the child to “own up” to what he or she did.  Their hearts are knit together through this shared experience.

Your focus in prayer is to knit your heart to God’s through the ACTS of prayer–adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication.  Too many prayers are simply to-do lists laid out to God.  Prayer is not to be treated as a spiritual genie that will magically cause God to answer your request.  Prayer is heart to heart with God.  Begin by acknowledging His great power and grace, then admit your failures, thank Him for his many favors in your life, and then, and only then, bring your requests before Him.  Prayer, knit in this manner, will not unravel. 
Jesus’ Question for Me:
Have you experienced the lasting joy of knitting your heart to God?

Jesus’ Promise to Me: God hears the heart to heart calls of His children.

My Song to Jesus:  Sweet Hour of Prayer   William W Walford  1845

  1. Sweet hour of prayer! sweet hour of prayer!
    That calls me from a world of care,
    And bids me at my Father’s throne
    Make all my wants and wishes known.
    In seasons of distress and grief,
    My soul has often found relief,
    And oft escaped the tempter’s snare,
    By thy return, sweet hour of prayer!
  2. Sweet hour of prayer! sweet hour of prayer!
    The joys I feel, the bliss I share,
    Of those whose anxious spirits burn
    With strong desires for thy return!
    With such I hasten to the place
    Where God my Savior shows His face,
    And gladly take my station there,
    And wait for thee, sweet hour of prayer!
  3. Sweet hour of prayer! sweet hour of prayer!
    Thy wings shall my petition bear
    To Him whose truth and faithfulness
    Engage the waiting soul to bless.
    And since He bids me seek His face,
    Believe His Word and trust His grace,
    I’ll cast on Him my every care,
    And wait for thee, sweet hour of prayer!
  4. Sweet hour of prayer! sweet hour of prayer!
    May I thy consolation share,
    Till, from Mount Pisgah’s lofty height,
    I view my home and take my flight.
    This robe of flesh I’ll drop, and rise
    To seize the everlasting prize,
    And shout, while passing through the air,
    “Farewell, farewell, sweet hour of prayer!”

Mr. Walford was a blind preacher who lived alone.  When preaching he could quote many passages word for word.  His listeners thought he must know the whole Bible by heart.  Once, when a visitor came he asked this visitor if he would write down the words to a poem he had written about prayer.  The visitor took it upon himself to see that a tune was written and this was published as a song.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

