Messenger of Mercy

9 Mar

God’s Word:  Matthew 6:2-3  Jesus said, “When you do something for someone else, don’t call attention to yourself.  You’ve seen them in action.  I’m sure—‘playactors’ I call them—treating prayer meeting and street corner alike as a stage, acting compassionate as long as someone is watching, playing to the crowds.  They get applause, true, but that’s all they get.  When you help someone out, don’t think about how it looks.  Just do it—quietly and unobtrusively.  That is the way your God, who conceived you in love, working behind the scenes, helps you out.”

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying to me through these verses)

Charity begins at home.  A loving, forgiving, kind and compassionate person in their home will most naturally be that same kind of person out in the world.  At home, when no outsiders are watching, are you the same person you are in public?  Check yourself often in this area.  Don’t put on airs for others that you don’t practice at home.  Genuineness counts with your family, with others, and most definitely with God.

One time I was watching people come into the temple and give to the offering.  Some made great ceremony of it, being careful to give of their abundance when there was a great crowd of onlookers.  But one dear lady came slinking in; afraid someone would see that she gave the smallest of coins.  It was nothing compared to the others.  I explained that this lady had given more than all the others.  They gave of their abundance, and to be seen and admired by others.  She gave all she had.  She gave out of love, they gave for the show.

Lay up your treasures in heaven.  That means don’t do your good works for the applause of men, but do them when no one is looking.  In this way, act as a thief, doing what you do in secret, so as not to be seen by others.  This shows your pure motive.  Don’t you receive blessing upon blessing from God?  He is not calling attention to Himself but quietly works behind the scenes to care for your needs.  And you are His messenger of mercy when you carry out his work of loving care, not for the praise of men, but in loving response to what God has given you.

Jesus’ Question for Me:  Will you be My messenger of mercy, on assignment from Me, without seeking the notice of others?

Jesus’ Promise to Me:  Doing your good deeds, to receive praise from others, negates the reward I had planned to give you.

My Song to Jesus:     Close to Thee      Fanny Crosby (The blind lady)

Thou my everlasting portion,

More than friend or life to me,

All along my pilgrim journey,

Savior, let me walk with thee.

Refrain:

Close to thee, close to thee,

Close to thee, close to thee,

All along my pilgrim journey,

Savior, let me walk with thee.

Not for ease or worldly pleasure,

Nor for fame my prayer shall be;

Gladly will I toil and suffer,

Only let me walk with thee.

(Refrain)

Close to thee, close to thee,

Close to thee, close to thee,

All along my pilgrim journey,

Savior, let me walk with thee.

Lead me through the vale of shadows,

Bear me o’er life’s fitful sea;

Then the gate of life eternal

May I enter, Lord, with thee.

(Refrain)

Close to thee, close to thee,

Close to thee, close to thee,

All along my pilgrim journey,

Savior, let me walk with thee.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

