Stand There and Take It!

5 Mar

God’s Word:  Matthew 5:38-41  Jesus said, “Here’s another old saying that deserves a second look: ‘Eye for eye, tooth for tooth.’ Is that going to get us anywhere?  Here’s what I propose;

  1.  ‘Don’t hit back at all.’ If someone strikes you, stand there and take it. 
  2. If someone drags you into court and sues for the shirt off your back, gift wrap your best coat and make a present of it. 
  3. And if someone takes unfair advantage of you, use the occasion to practice the servant life. 
  4. No more tit-for-tat stuff.  Live generously.”

Jesus’ Message to Me: (My interpretation of what Jesus is saying to me through these verses)

My law of love rises above that what humanity would call the law of fairness.  The law of the Old Testament taught the people how to get along and solve injustices.  The law of love that I have given teaches you to rise above the injustices.  I spent My life as an example so you could learn how to live out this law of love.

Your natural inclination is to “get even,” or “show them they can’t do that to you.”  But retaliation only ushers in more pain and suffering, in both parties.  There is no end to the law of retaliation—until death.  Instead—stop it in its tracks by refusing to participate.  Do as I did when expressing My love for you.  Stand there and take it!  Give to others unreservedly! Serve others as though you were serving God—for you are!

As I fulfilled the OT Law by rising above it, I challenge you to join Me.  To live generously and victoriously you must abolish the desire to seek vengeance altogether.  The Golden Rule of ‘do unto others as you wish them to do unto you’ should be followed in all interactions with all others.  As I gave My life to bless others—I am calling upon you to do the same.  Crucify selfishness for that is the golden path of life eternal that I send you to tread.

Jesus’ Question for Me: What will you do even today to crucify selfishness and live generously for others?

Jesus’ Promise to Me:  I never to ask you to do that which I did not do and I never ask you to do anything alone—for I will be with you.  Take My strength upon you!

My Song to Jesus:  So Send I You   by Margaret Clarkson

So send I you to labor unrewarded
To serve unpaid, unloved, unsought, unknown
To bear rebuke, to suffer scorn and scoffing
So send I you to toil for Me alone

So send I you to bind the bruised and broken
Over wandering souls to work, to weep, to wake
To bear the burdens of a world a-weary
So send I you to suffer for My sake

So send I you to loneliness and longing
With heart a-hungering for the loved and known
Forsaking kin and kindred, friend and dear one
So send I you to know My love alone

So send I you to leave your life’s ambition
To die to dear desire, self-will resign
To labor long, and love where men revile you
So send I you to lose your life in Mine

So send I you to hearts made hard by hatred
To eyes made blind because they will not see
To spend, though it be blood to spend and spare not
So send I you to taste of Calvary

“As the Father hath sent me, so send I you”

The story behind the hymn:

Margaret Clarkson was born in Melville, Saskatchewan, a small city on the western prairies of Canada. She was a school teacher, an acclaimed author (of 17 books), and a hymn writer.

During her early years, she taught school in a remote lumber camp, and then a mining camp, in Northern Ontario. She says, “I experienced loneliness of every kind–mental, cultural, but particularly spiritual. I never found real Christian fellowship. Churches were modern [liberal in doctrine] and born again Christians almost non-existent.”

But one evening, meditating on the Scriptures, she came across Jesus’ words in John 20:21, “As the Father hath sent Me, so send I you.” She relates, “God seemed to tell me that night that this was my mission field, and this was where He had sent me.” Encouraged by the thought, she wrote a hymn poem entitled So Send I You. Presenting a starkly realistic picture of the painful sacrifice some have undergone for the cause of Christ, it says in part:

So sent I you to labor unrewarded,
To serve unpaid, unloved, unsought, unknown,
To bear rebuke, to suffer scorn and scoffing–
So send I you to toil for Me alone.

But that is not quite the end of the story. In later years, the author viewed her song with a critical eye. She came to the conclusion that, while such things were often true, they only give one side of the story. There are many positive blessings in the Lord’s work as well. So Margaret Clarkson wrote another similar hymn to balance the first. It says in part:

So send I you–by grace made strong to triumph
O’er hosts of hell, o’er darkness, death and sin,
My name to bear and in that name to conquer–
So send I you, My victory to share.

So send I you–My strength to know in weakness,
My joy in grief, My perfect peace in pain,
To prove My pow’r, My grace, My promised presence–
So send I you, eternal fruit to gain.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

