Making God Happy

27 Jan

God’s Word:3 John

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

Nothing could make me happier than knowing My children continue diligently in the way of Truth.  Just as when you are overjoyed because of the good choices of your children, I too am overjoyed when you make good choices—mainly the choice to follow My Truth.  My Truth then becomes the wellspring for all other choices in life.

Kindness shown to others, on My behalf, makes me deeply happy.  Choose wisely those to whom you shower with kindness.  Some prey off the kindness of good people to satisfy their selfish desires rather than working to provide for themselves.  To give to these people you are enabling them to continue in their selfish manner of living.

When My children, offer hospitality to one another, it is as though you were offering hospitality to Me.  In going out of your way to be hospitable you are making the faith visible.  In making the faith visible others will see that you not only say you believe, but your actions display your belief.  Make wise choices in those you provide meals and a bed for, because you are partnering with them in their life’s work—helping them on their way.  Don’t welcome the evil into your home but model the good.  The person who does good does My work and this gives me great happiness.  Help My children on their way.

God’s Question for Me: Have you got the spare room ready for my visit?

God’s Promise to Me: Following My Truth always brings deep happiness—knowing you have made the right choice.

My Song to God:

Blest be the tie that binds
Our hearts in Christian love;
The fellowship of kindred minds
Is like to that above.

Before our Father’s throne
We pour our ardent prayers;
Our fears, our hopes, our aims are one
Our comforts and our cares.

We share each other’s woes,
Our mutual burdens bear;
And often for each other flows
The sympathizing tear.

When we asunder part,
It gives us inward pain;
But we shall still be joined in heart,
And hope to meet again.

This glorious hope revives
Our courage by the way;
While each in expectation lives,
And longs to see the day.

From sorrow, toil and pain,
And sin, we shall be free,
And perfect love and friendship reign
Through all eternity.

Dr. John Faw­cett, the author of this song, was the pas­tor of a small church at Wains­gate, England and was called from there to a larg­er church in Lon­don in 1772. He ac­cept­ed the call and preached his fare­well ser­mon. The wa­gons were load­ed with his books and fur­ni­ture, and all was rea­dy for the de­part­ure, when his pa­rish­ion­ers gath­ered around him, and with tears in their eyes begged of him to stay. His wife said, “Oh John, John, I can­not bear this.” “Neither can I,” ex­claimed the good pas­tor, “and we will not go. Un­load the wa­gons and put ev­ery­thing as it was be­fore.” His de­ci­sion was hailed with great joy by his peo­ple, and he wrote the words of this hymn in com­mem­o­ra­tion of the event.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

