Focus on God = LOVE

10 Jan

God’s Word: 1st, 2nd, 3rd John

What are these books all about?

The two most difficult things to get straight in life are love and God.  More often than not, the mess people make of their lives can be traced to failure or stupidity or meanness in one of both of these areas.

The basic and biblical Christian conviction is that the two subjects are intricately related.  If we want to deal with God the right way, we have to learn to love the right way.  If we want to love the right way, we have to deal with God the right way.  God and love can’t be separated.

John’s three letters provide wonderfully explicit direction in how this works.  Jesus, the Messiah, is the focus: Jesus provides the full and true understanding of God; Jesus shows us the mature working-out of love.  In Jesus, God and love are linked accurately, intricately, and indissolubly.

But there are always people around who don’t want to be pinned down to the God Jesus reveals, to the love Jesus reveals.  They want to make up their own idea of God, make up their own style of love.  John was pastor to a church (or churches) disrupted by some of these people.  In his letters we see him reestablishing the original and organic unity of God and love that comes to focus and becomes available to us in Jesus Christ.  (Copied from “The Message,” the introduction to 1, 2,3, John.)

God’s Question for Me: Could you use a refresher course in how to really love one another?

God’s Promise to Me: Nothing can separate you from My love.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration:  Because of your loving concern for mankind you orchestrated the recording of Your words of love and guidance—the Bible.  We are so richly blest through this book that leads us to Your very Heart O God.

Confession:  How sad that even those who claim to know you intimately would admit that they don’t really read your Word much at all.  The more we read it and glean from it the dearer You become to us.  I’m so sorry that I and so many others don’t read Your love letter more.

Thanksgiving:  I’m oh so thankful that your love for us is not dependent entirely on how we read and follow your Words of advice.  Even in our failures Your love is constant, urging us closer and closer to You.

Supplication:  Speak to my heart through Your Word and help me see Your love so clearly that I can’t help but turn to You every moment of every day.

My Song to God: Love Found a Way  Avis M Christiansen  1915

Wonderful love that rescued me, sunk deep in sin,
Guilty and vile as I could be—no hope within;
When every ray of light had fled, O glorious day!
Raising my soul from out the dead, love found a way.

Refrain

Love found a way, to redeem my soul,
Love found a way, that could make me whole.
Love sent my Lord to the cross of shame,
Love found a way, O praise His holy Name!

Love brought my Savior here to die on Calvary,
For such a sinful wretch as I, how can it be?
Love bridged the gulf ’twixt me and Heav’n, taught me to pray,
I am redeemed, set free, forgiv’n, love found a way.

Refrain

Love found a way, to redeem my soul,
Love found a way, that could make me whole.
Love sent my Lord to the cross of shame,
Love found a way, O praise His holy Name!

Love opened wide the gates of light to Heav’n’s domain,
Where in eternal power and might Jesus shall reign.
Love lifted me from depths of woe to endless day,
There was no help in earth below; love found a way.

Refrain

Love found a way, to redeem my soul,
Love found a way, that could make me whole.
Love sent my Lord to the cross of shame,
Love found a way, O praise His holy Name!

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

