Till the End of Time

9 Jan

God’s Word: I Peter 3

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

I’ve given you the gift of time.  Take the time to look around you and see the amazing creation on every hand.  Time to look inward at your own heart and see the spot reserved for Me, only Me.  No other god will do for there is no other god.  They are simply figments of people’s imagination–seeds of thoughts planted by Satan himself.

This gift of time will not remain forever.  It is My gift for you to have the “time” to get to know My Word and My will for your life.  Many reject Me and mock My followers.  Not only mock, but persecute to death.  I give you time to share my message of love, peace and joy through Christ but instead of sharing you spend your time in pursuit of pleasure and more pleasure.  Many have not realized that real pleasure comes from a pure and right relationship with Me.  I have given you more time so you will have space to turn to me.  Instead, you have turned to pleasing yourself.

Time will cease on the Day of Judgment.  It will come unannounced, like the thief.  The sky will collapse with a thunderous bang, everything disintegrating in a huge conflagration, earth and its entire works exposed to the scrutiny of judgment.  You need this reminder occasionally that time will not always be.  Everything you hold dear today may be gone tomorrow so it is essential that you live a life expectant of Christ’s return to earth.  Do your best to be found living at your best, in purity and peace.  Not only that, but share with others this hope you have of eternity at peace in My presence.  Time is not unending!  Eternity is forever.  Live for the eternal!

God’s Question for Me: Are you wasting time or investing time in things of eternal importance?

God’s Promise to Me: My gift of time is so you have space to turn to me for salvation—for all time and eternity.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration:  I accept this give of time you have given me to prepare for the world to come and desire to give You pleasure by how I spend my time.

Confession:  Oh, how easy it is to waste time.  I’m sorry for giving in to pleasure instead of investing my time wisely.

Thanksgiving:  How I thank and praise you for patiently giving me all these years of my life, even though I have not invested my time wisely.  My heart’s desire is to honor You by the use of my time.

Supplication:  Help me to resist the desire for pleasure, for pleasures sake, and devote my life to serving others on Your behalf.  Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in me that all in my world will have opportunity to choose life by choosing Jesus as their Savior.

My Song to God:    The Great Judgment Morning   Bertram H Shadduck  1894

I dreamed that the great judgment morning
Had dawned, and the trumpet had blown;
I dreamed that the nations had gathered
To judgment before the white throne;
From the throne came a bright, shining angel,
And he stood on the land and the sea,
And he swore with his hand raised to Heaven,
That time was no longer to be.

Refrain:
And, oh, what a weeping and wailing,
As the lost were told of their fate;
They cried for the rocks and the mountains,
They prayed, but their prayer was too late.

The rich man was there, but his money
Had melted and vanished away;
A pauper he stood in the judgment,
His debts were too heavy to pay;
The great man was there, but his greatness,
When death came, was left far behind!
The angel that opened the records,
Not a trace of his greatness could find.

Refrain:
And, oh, what a weeping and wailing,
As the lost were told of their fate;
They cried for the rocks and the mountains,
They prayed, but their prayer was too late.

The widow was there with the orphans,
God heard and remembered their cries;
No sorrow in heaven forever,
God wiped all the tears from their eyes;
The gambler was there and the drunkard,
And the man that had sold them the drink,
With the people who gave him the license,
Together in hell they did sink.

Refrain:
And, oh, what a weeping and wailing,
As the lost were told of their fate;
They cried for the rocks and the mountains,
They prayed, but their prayer was too late.

The moral man came to the judgment,
But self-righteous rags would not do;
The men who had crucified Jesus
Had passed off as moral men, too;
The soul that had put off salvation,
“Not tonight; I’ll get saved by and by,
No time now to think of religion!”
At last they had found time to die.

Refrain:
And, oh, what a weeping and wailing,
As the lost were told of their fate;
They cried for the rocks and the mountains,
They prayed, but their prayer was too late.

 

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

