That Isn’t Fair!

2 Jan

God’s Word: I Peter 3

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

I hear so many people lamenting “that isn’t fair!” Everyone has their own inner “fairness scale” they use when they feel they are getting cheated out of some entitlement.  Aren’t you grateful that Jesus didn’t pull out the “that isn’t fair” card as he was being tortured and then nailed to a cross to die?  His pain is your gain!

Follow Jesus example!  Be willing to sacrifice your own comfort on behalf of others.  Be agreeable, be sympathetic, be loving, be compassionate, and be humble.  That goes for all of you, no exceptions.  No retaliation.  No sharp-tongued sarcasm.  Tear up the “that isn’t fair” card and refuse to use that excuse for shirking the duty I have called you to.

Instead, as Jesus did, BLESS—that’s your job, to bless.  If you are a blessing to others you will also get a blessing—from Me.  To bless another it means you praise them or speak well of them—honestly.  Look for the good in others and broadcast it so they and others will hear and you will bless them.  Be so busy blessing that you have no thought about “fairness” to self.

Whoever wants to embrace life and see the day fill up with good, here’s what you do; say nothing evil or hurtful; snub evil and cultivate good; run after peace for all you’re worth.  I look on all this with My approval, listening and responding well to what I’m asked; but I turn My back on those who do evil things.

God’s Question for Me: Jesus tore up his “that’s not fair” card—are you willing to follow his example?

God’s Promise to Me: You can depend upon My blessings if you will be more concerned with blessing others than being sure you are treated fairly.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration:  According to human standards it was truly unfair what happened to Jesus.  To think that He submitted to it willingly, quietly, and on our behalf.  It so motivates me to want to pass on the blessing He bestowed.

Confession:  My heart cries out to pass on the blessing but the body still want to pull out the “that isn’t fair” card.  I’m sorry for caring more about myself than others.

Thanksgiving:  Thank you for Your wonderful plan to purchase our salvation by paying a price that is so totally unfair.  To think that we would ever be concerned about fairness with others when Jesus trumped the fairness card.

Supplication:  I too want to trump the fairness card.  I need Your help to set self aside and focus on following Your call upon my life.  Help me to be more concerned about blessing than being blessed.

My Song to God:  Why?

Why did they nail Him to Calvary’s tree? 
Why? tell me, why was He there?
Jesus the Helper, the Healer, the Friend
Why? tell me, why was He there?

Chorus:

All my iniquities on Him were laid
He nailed them all to the tree
Jesus the debt of my sin fully paid
He paid the ransom for me.

Why should He love me, a sinner undone?
Why? tell me, why should He care?
I do not merit the love He has shown
Why? tell me, why should He care?

Chorus:

All my iniquities on Him were laid
He nailed them all to the tree
Jesus the debt of my sin fully paid
He paid the ransom for me.

Why should I linger afar from His love?
Why? tell me, why should I fear?
Somehow I know I should venture and prove
Why? tell me, why should I fear?

Chorus:

All my iniquities on Him were laid
He nailed them all to the tree
Jesus the debt of my sin fully paid
He paid the ransom for me.

 

One Response to “That Isn’t Fair!”

  1. Kirsten Holmberg January 5, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    To be more concerned with blessing others instead of being blessed… Thank you, Ellen, for this important perspective-check.

    Like

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

