Tiger Taming

26 Dec

God’s Word: James 3

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

You can tame a tiger but you can’t tame your tongue.  By careless words you can ruin the world, turn harmony into chaos, throw mud on a reputation, send the whole world up in smoke and go up in smoke with it.  The tongue runs wild!  Curses and blessings should not come from the same mouth.  A spring doesn’t gush fresh water one day and brackish the next.  Apple trees don’t bear strawberries or raspberry bushes produce apples do they?

A wise person recognizes the danger in letting the tongue loose and takes careful steps to keep it in check.  The best way to keep the tongue in check is by devoting yourself to living a holy life before God and others.  A holy life is characterized by getting along with others.  It is gentle and reasonable, overflowing with mercy and blessings, not hot one day and cold the next, not two-faced.

An untamed tiger is kept caged.  An untamed tongue also needs to be caged within a body that is devoted to living a holy life by getting along with others.  You don’t allow the untamed tiger to roam freely and you must not allow the untamable tongue to speak freely without measuring the impact of your words.  A good rule of thumb to follow is “Speak to others how you wish to be spoken to,” for as you sow, so shall you reap.

God’s Question for Me:  How are you getting along with others?  What part in you’re getting along with others do you think depends upon your choice of words?

God’s Promise to Me: You can develop a healthy community that lives right with God and enjoy its results only if you do the hard work of getting along with each other, treating each other with dignity and honor.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration:  How grateful I am that though I am weak—you are strong and able to keep me from saying and doing those things that hurt others.

Confession:  I am sorry for the many times I have ignored my better sense and uttered words that were painful to others.

Thanksgiving:  Thank you for Your Word that is my perfect guide to learning how to get along with others—all others.

Supplication:  Help me to stiffly angry or bitter words and now even allow them a place to take up residence by living by the act of constant forgiveness—like I need You to give me.

My Song to God:

  1. I would be true, for there are those who trust me;
    I would be pure, for there are those who care;
    I would be strong, for there is much to suffer;
    I would be brave, for there is much to dare.
  2. I would be friend of all—the foe, the friendless;
    I would be giving, and forget the gift;
    I would be humble, for I know my weakness;
    I would look up, and laugh, and love, and lift.
  3. I would be faithful through each passing moment;
    I would be constantly in touch with God;
    I would be strong to follow where He leads me;
    I would have faith to keep the path Christ trod.
  4. Who is so low that I am not his brother?
    Who is so high that I’ve no path to him?
    Who is so poor I may not feel his hunger?
    Who is so rich I may not pity him?
  5. Who is so hurt I may not know his heartache?
    Who sings for joy my heart may never share?
    Who in God’s heav’n has passed beyond my vision?
    Who to hell’s depths where I may never fare?
  6. May none, then, call on me for understanding,
    May none, then, turn to me for help in pain,
    And drain alone his bitter cup of sorrow,
    Or find he knocks upon my heart in vain.

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

