True Colors

21 Dec

God’s Word: James 1

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me from His Word)

What challenges are you facing?  A life without challenges is destined to be colorless.  It is the challenges of life that bring out your true colors.  The challenges of life do a work in your heart that can be done in no other way and you end up stronger and more able to help others struggling with those same challenges.

If you are so challenged that you don’t know which way to turn—turn to Me.  I love to help those who turn to me.  Ask Me for help—boldly, believing and without a second thought and I will help your true colors shine brightly.  People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves, adrift at sea, keeping all their options open.  Their bent to worrying hinders the amount of help I can offer.

Too many call out to me in trouble but then when the trouble subsides, they fail to act in ways that will prevent these challenges from reoccurring.  Then when the natural consequence of their choices come they blame Me for not preventing the calamity.  Their true colors are simply colorless.

The Good News is that a colorless life can be changed to one of vibrant colors that reflect for the world to see and admire.  This colorful life develops as you reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard yourself against corruption from the godless world that surrounds you.  Your actions, after asking for My help, show your true colors. 

God’s Question for Me: Will you accept My help in developing your true colors?

God’s Promise to Me: The gifts I long to give you are rivers of colorful lights cascading into your life to bless not only your life but every life that touches yours.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration: It is wonderful the way You are with us when we call out to You and give us a peace and confidence that is beyond human understanding.  As we “rest in you” the peace comes.  What a blessing to know there is nothing that can come into our lives but what You are up to the task of giving us peace in the midst of all the storms of life.

Confession:  I have wasted much time worrying instead of resting in Your loving care.  I am sorry for not turning to You immediately in times of challenge instead of letting worry do its awful work in me.

Thanksgiving:  It is so blessed to know that You are only a prayer away and your peace is available in all circumstances of life. Thank you!

Supplication:  Help me always keep at the forefront of my mind that A CAUSE TO WORRY IS A CALL TO PRAYER.

My Song to God:  Day by Day  Karolina W. Sandell-Berg 1865

Day by day, and with each passing moment,
Strength I find, to meet my trials here;
Trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment,
I’ve no cause for worry or for fear.
He Whose heart is kind beyond all measure
Gives unto each day what He deems best—
Lovingly, its part of pain and pleasure,
Mingling toil with peace and rest.

Every day, the Lord Himself is near me
With a special mercy for each hour;
All my cares He fain would bear, and cheer me,
He Whose Name is Counselor and Pow’r.
The protection of His child and treasure
Is a charge that on Himself He laid;
“As thy days, thy strength shall be in measure,”
This the pledge to me He made.

Help me then in every tribulation
So to trust Thy promises, O Lord,
That I lose not faith’s sweet consolation
Offered me within Thy holy Word.
Help me, Lord, when toil and trouble meeting,
E’er to take, as from a father’s hand,
One by one, the days, the moments fleeting,
Till I reach the promised land.

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

