Avoid the Rat Race

19 Dec

God’s Word: Hebrews 12

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

The school of hard knocks is where those who have refused discipline learn to survive.  There is no way around discipline.  Discipline is simply training for life.  You can discipline yourself by letting up on the pedal or you can let the police discipline you.  It’s your choice.  But the discipline must come.

Choose wisely the models you wish to follow in your life.  Super heroes or super stars will be of no help.  Life can be likened to a race.  Some call it the rat race but that is because they have their eyes on the wrong models to follow.  The rats are all about making themselves #1 and they choose the school of hard knocks in seeking self-satisfaction.  Choose instead a model that is all about serving others and helping others be all they can be.  I present to you, as your ultimate model for living life, Jesus Christ.

Jesus never lost sight of His goal all during his life on earth.  He knew He was destined to die but he didn’t give up.  He prayed for strength and stood to face the enemy—calmly and with resolution.  When tempted to choose the easy way out, he flatly refused, accepting instead the cross.  The driving force of His sacrificial life was you.  You are loved, beyond measure.  Jesus left you this example so you can avoid the rat race and follow in His steps of living for others.

God’s Question for Me: Will you abandon the rat race and follow Jesus?

God’s Promise to Me: Following the example of Jesus will shoot adrenaline into your souls!

My Prayer to God:

Adoration:  How blest we are to have Jesus as the perfect model to follow all the days of our lives.  Nothing can separate us from His love except our refusal to follow and pass His love on to others.

Confession:  How easy it is to get sucked into the rat race and take our eyes off our perfect model, Jesus.  I’m sorry for letting my mind lead me down the temporal path of worry and forgetting about the needs of others.

Thanksgiving:  Thank you for the example Jesus left for us to follow.  Thank you for the life of self-sacrifice He lived so that we could be forgiven and live eternally with Him.  Wow, we are so blest.

Supplication:  Help us to daily look to Jesus as our example and reach out to others as unto Him for that is the only way we can express our gratefulness to Him.

My Song to God:  Living for Jesus  (Thomas O. Chisholm  1917)

Living for Jesus, a life that is true,
Striving to please Him in all that I do;
Yielding allegiance, glad-hearted and free,
This is the pathway of blessing for me.

Refrain:
O Jesus, Lord and Savior, I give myself to Thee,
For Thou, in Thy atonement, didst give Thyself for me;
I own no other Master, my heart shall be Thy throne;
My life I give, henceforth to live, O Christ, for Thee alone.

Living for Jesus Who died in my place,
Bearing on Calv’ry my sin and disgrace;
Such love constrains me to answer His call,
Follow His leading and give Him my all.

Refrain:

Living for Jesus, wherever I am,
Doing each duty in His holy Name;
Willing to suffer affliction and loss,
Deeming each trial a part of my cross.

Refrain:

Living for Jesus through earth’s little while,
My dearest treasure, the light of His smile;
Seeking the lost ones He died to redeem,
Bringing the weary to find rest in Him.

Refrain:

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

