The Best Teacher

14 Nov

November 14, 2011

Title:  The Best Teacher

God’s Word: Titus 2

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

You’ve all had many teachers who have expounded on the virtues of doing this or that and tried to persuade you to their way of thinking.  But the teachers who truly make a difference in your life are those that are up close and personal.  For the most part, these teachers don’t even consider themselves as teachers.  They are just living their lives and their example  is duplicated in others.

You are all teachers.  Every word and deed of your life is teaching all those your life touches.  You teach what you model.  Some model selfishness, lust and foolishness.  I have called you to be models of goodness.  By looking at your life will others will learn how to live lives of temperance, wisdom, dignity, love and endurance.  Please don’t cause others to look down on Me because of your behavior—choose carefully.

The best teachers use the show and tell method.  They show by living their lives as an example and then using every opportunity to tell the reasons behind their behavior.  Your character is exposed by your words and deeds.  Follow the example of Jesus in living a self-sacrificing life, a God-honoring life that is ready always to give and forgive, not to take and withhold.  The best teachers let the beauty of Jesus shine through their character and are expressed in their words and deeds.

God’s Question for Me: What is your life modeling that you hope others will emulate?

God’s Promise to Me: Salvation is available to everyone!  You are my chosen vessel to deliver that message to your circle of influence.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration:  God, you always bring me back to true north each time I open your word.  What a simple method you have provided for us to live our lives and point others to you.  Let the beauty of Jesus shine through our lives.  I am honored to be a vessel to let Him shine.

Confession:  Way too often I forget about this assignment you are counting on me to carry out.  I get so busy just living from day to day that I totally forget that the purpose for living my days is to let your love shine through me.  I’m sorry.

Thanksgiving:  Thank you for a new day and new opportunities to let you shine brightly for my world to see Your beauty reflected in my words and deeds.  Thank you for trusting me to carry your message of salvation to my world.

Supplication:  Please help me keep these thoughts in my heart and mind as I live each day before You and my world.  I want to be one of your best teachers with a pure character to shine through the example my words and deeds make.

My Song to God: “Let the Beauty of Jesus” by Albert Orsbon 1916

Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in me,
All His wonderful passion and purity.
O my Savior divine, all my being refine,
Till the beauty of Jesus be seen in me.

Verses 2-4 were added by George L Johnson in 1934

When your burden is heavy and hard to bear,

When your neighbors refust all your load to share,

When you’re feeling so blue, Don’t know just what do you,

Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in you.

 

When somebody has been so unkind to you,

Some word spoken that pierces you through and through,

Think how He was beguiled, Spat upon and reviled;

Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in you.

 

From the dawn of the morning to close of day,

In example, in deeds, and in all you say,

Lay your gifts at His feet, Ever strive to keep sweet,

Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in you.

 

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

