Catching Flies

31 Oct

God’s Word: I Timothy 3

God’s Message to Me: (My interpretation of what God is saying to me through these verses)

All I really need are a few good men and women to turn this world around.  You may have heard it said that all it really takes for the acceptance of evil is for good people to say and do nothing.  That is so true.  Evil is gaining a foothold in the world on every continent.  The good people are stifled by the teaching that “diversity is good—everyone is free and welcome to their own opinions and do doing their own thing and if you don’t accept others freely, you are a hate monger.”

The hate mongers are the ones who erroneously express their opinions in evil ways, by being cruel, rude and even killing those who disagree with them.  Unfortunately, some of them even do it in My name.  Instead of lambasting the diversity, My representatives love the sinner on my behalf.  They gently teach him of My love and woo him into walking My path of freedom from sin. They know that you can catch more flies with honey than vinegar.

The few good men and women who can turn this world around are those who are well-respected because of their upstanding lives and loving behavior to all others.  Their words and deeds, tempered with the pure honey of My Word, draw all mankind into a personal relationship with Me.  There they will find peace that passes understanding and a joy unspeakable.  What a wonderful world this would be—if only a few men and women stepped up to the plate and devoted themselves to spreading My honey throughout the world.

God’s Question for Me: Can I count on you to spread the honey of My Word in your world?

God’s Promise to Me: Never fear!  I am with you always.

My Prayer to God:

Adoration: I love it when you remind me about what really matters and how we should treat others in our world.  I feel so incapable of being your representative but know that You are my strength and shield.

Confession:  So many times I have failed to speak Your Words of truth when I saw an injustice or wicked thing happening—for fear of rejection.  I am so sorry.  Please help strengthen me for these times and let me be your voice in my world.

Thanksgiving:  My soul rejoices to come into your presence, each time my thoughts turn to you.  It really is a joy unspeakable and full of glory.  Help me not keep it to myself and being a good representative of your joy to my world.

Supplication:  Instead of swatting at flies, help me to spread Your honey of love to my world and share the good news of Jesus love and forgiveness and daily presence of peace and joy.

My Song to God:

I’ve Got the Joy In My Heart

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart

Where?

Down in my heart!

Where?

Down in my heart!

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart

Down in my heart to stay

 

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

Down in my heart

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart.

 

I’ve got the love of Jesus, love of Jesus

Down in my heart

Where?

Down in my heart!

Where?

Down in my heart!

I’ve got the love of Jesus, love of Jesus

Down in my heart

Where?

Down in my heart to stay.

 

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

Down in my heart

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart.

 

I’ve got the peace that passes understanding

Way down in the depths of my heart!

Where?

Down in the depths of my heart!

Where?

Down in the depths of my heart!

I’ve got the peace that passes understanding

Way down in the depths of my heart!

Down in my heart to stay

 

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

Down in my heart

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart.

 

And if the Devil doesn’t like it

He can sit on a tack!

Ouch!

Sit on a tack!

Ouch!

Sit on a tack!

And if the Devil doesn’t like it

He can sit on a tack!

Ouch!

Sit on a tack to stay!

 

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart

Down in my heart

And I’m so happy

So very happy

I’ve got the love of Jesus in my heart.

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

