The Light

16 Aug

 

God’s Word: John 12

God’s message to me:

Do you ever feel like you just can’t win?  I know the feeling.  Jesus raised Lazarus to life, after he had been a cadaver for four days.  The crowds were amazed and scores believed in Jesus as “God in the flesh.”  Who else has the power to raise the dead?  But many of the religious leaders of that day, refused to believe.  Instead, they plotted to kill Lazarus since he was the cause of so many turning from them and believing in Jesus.  See how far people will go to hold onto “power.”  Rather than accept the facts they chose to “put out the Light.”

The next day Jesus entered Jerusalem, riding on a donkey.  Crowds of people welcomed him by waving palm branches and laying their coats down in the road and cheering.  Again the religious leaders were frustrated.  They threw up their hands and said, “It’s out of control. The world’s in a stampede after Him.” 

The eyes of these religious leaders were blind to Jesus because of their own selfishness. Instead of accepting the “Light” Jesus offered they chose the darkness of their own imaginations.  They were imagining a Messiah that would come storming into Jerusalem on a great white horse with throngs of soldiers to overthrow the Roman government that oppressed them. Jesus didn’t fulfill their preconceived notions so they meant to “put out the Light.”

Eyes are still blinded today!  I sent Jesus to earth to “Light” the way for you to see My love for mankind.  To believe in His “Light” transfers the “Light” to within you.  You become my children of “Light.”  Don’t be alarmed when the darkness tries to “put out the Light.”  The darker the night the brighter the Light shines.  Keep shining so your world will be able to see the path into my presence.  The “Light” of my love will never be quenched.

God’s Question for me: Can your world see the “Light” shining in your words and deeds?

God’s Promise to me: Jesus said “I am Light that has come into the world so that all who believe in Me won’t have to stay any longer in the dark.”

My prayer to God:

I shall be eternally grateful that my eyes were opened to Your Light.  What a blessing your Light is in my everyday life.

I am sorry that I don’t consciously let Your Light shine brighter through my words and deeds.

Thank you for Jesus, the Light of my life.  Through his Light—I see the path to You clearly.

Help me to let my Light shine so that others will come into the Light of your love.

My Song to God:

This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Hide it under a bushel? No!
I’m gonna let it shine
Hide it under a bushel? No!
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Don’t let Satan (whoof) it out
I’m gonna let it shine
Don’t let Satan (whoof) it out
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

All around my neighborhood
I’m gonna let it shine
All around my neighborhood
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Let it shine ’til Jesus comes
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine ’til Jesus comes
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

What "take-away" did you receive from this blog post?

